PDA

View Full Version : GIDE and Kaypro



Sharkonwheels
September 19th, 2007, 12:23 PM
Anyone on here interested in a little sub-project?
Modify the kaypro 10 (mebbe 4/84 also) ROM and CBIOS to support the GIDE, and autoboot from it?

As you know, I'm leaving Monday for Europe, but I get a bit of off-time while there. I've printed out all the sources I need (firmaware, CBIOS.MAC, PUTSYS.MAC, PUTOVL.MAC, FORMAT.MAC, CHECK.MAC, etc..) and also all the GIDE sources that are out there (for the Davidge board) to see if I can get some of this started.

I have nOT worked in assembler for at LEAST 10 years, so it's basically ground-zero for me. I'm taking a few Z80 ref guides, Z80 assembler books, etc..

Anyone else interested in assisting? Especially someone who knows CP/M 2.x and the CBIOS intimately?

I found that with the KC-Club GIDE, which has a laptop-style 44-pin IDE connector, I can use the HP C3013B "KittyHawk" 20MB drives, and basically it'd be a "hardcard" on the Z80 socket.

What I need to find, is a PCB-mounted FEMALE 44-pin connector so the drive will plug right ONTO the board!


Tony

chuckcmagee
September 19th, 2007, 12:51 PM
I have 2 of these *Conner C3013A Micro 1.35 inch Hard drive 20 megs* that I will likely never use for anything. Not sure if it's compatible or not.

Been much longer than 10 years for my Z80 stuff. I never did get into CBIOS land.

Terry Yager
September 19th, 2007, 12:58 PM
Dunno how much I remember, but I might still be able to muddle thru the Kaypro BIOS. If ya have any questions about the inner workings of CP/M, feel free to ask.

--T

Sharkonwheels
September 19th, 2007, 01:53 PM
I have 2 of these *Conner C3013A Micro 1.35 inch Hard drive 20 megs* that I will likely never use for anything. Not sure if it's compatible or not.

Been much longer than 10 years for my Z80 stuff. I never did get into CBIOS land.

Lemme guess...eBay? seller Danfuboco here in FL?

If ya don't want 'em, lemme know - I can play with 'em with this GIDE board.


T

Sharkonwheels
September 21st, 2007, 08:46 PM
Ya know, a little embarrassing, but... I'll swallow my pride...

So, almost done building the GIDE kit. Except, for the RTC, it needs a couple
diodes soldered on, and I don;t remember which way is which.

If I put up a pic, can someone tell me how to mount them?
The diodes are schottly diodes, the small reddish glass, with a stripe on one end. The board has a diagram silkscreened something like this:

Well, that didn't come out well! So much for Ascii art!

T

Terry Yager
September 21st, 2007, 10:43 PM
The band is on the negative (-) end.

--T

Druid6900
September 22nd, 2007, 11:41 AM
Yes, but, is that the anode or the cathode? I mean, he's gonna have to KNOW that :)

Sharkonwheels
September 22nd, 2007, 11:53 AM
See, if you look here:
http://www.iee.et.tu-dresden.de/~kc-club/gide/gide3.pdf

bottom of the page, center of the bottom of the drawing, D2 and D3 have the drawing of a rectangle, with a stripe. Which way do I mount the diodes?


T

Terry Yager
September 22nd, 2007, 01:05 PM
The stripe in the drawing corresponds to the red band on your diode. Just orient them the same way they're pictured.

--T