PDA

View Full Version : Commodore Plus/4 TV Issues



courant
October 1st, 2007, 09:41 AM
I laid hands upon one of these models, and with great sadness realized I do not have a TV with RF etc. So, I noticed that the cord that plugged into the RF converter (included with the C+/4) looked strangely like a male-male composite video cable.

I plugged it into the TV's yellow connector, turned the comp on, red light LED, and no picture on either of the Video channels.

So, I am left wondering:
1) Is this a problem with the commodore? I mean, the LED powers on but there's no, well, running sound. Of course I've never used one so maybe there isn't one.
2) Do I need to find an old RF TV to use it, i.e. was my idea wrong?
3) Is there another option for more modern TVs?

Thanks a lot
-c

ahm
October 1st, 2007, 11:00 AM
You probably have it cabled up wrong.

Assuming the "yellow connector" on your TV is for composite video, you'll need a cable for the 8-pin DIN a/v connector (http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/schematics/computers/plus4/connectors-2.jpg) on the Plus/4 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_Plus/4).

courant
October 1st, 2007, 01:24 PM
the 8pin ones for the C64 should do fine, right?
They look like they'd fit, but ebay purchases are a hassle if they're wrong.

ahm
October 1st, 2007, 03:14 PM
the 8pin ones for the C64 should do fine, right?
They look like they'd fit, but ebay purchases are a hassle if they're wrong.

If you just buy anything that looks like it will fit, you're gonna get burned.
Do the research required to figure out what signal goes where.
You might start with the link I gave above, with the connector pinouts.

carlsson
October 1st, 2007, 04:22 PM
But yes, courant is correct. The 8-pin video connector happens to be the same on C64, C16, Plus/4 and C128:

http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/documents/cables/video-connectors.txt

As for the RCA type connector, I'm pretty sure the Plus/4 has a built-in RF modulator already, so the signal you get from it is a RF signal. The "RF converter" sounds more like an adapter from RCA to another type of antenna input, perhaps F-jack or something else.

billdeg
October 1st, 2007, 06:42 PM
The connection from a Plus/4 is the same as a C-128/later C-64. You can use the same monitors/settings.

I have never used a Plus/4 with an RF converter, I always needed to use a CBM monitor. If you can get a C64 to work with the cables/method, it should also work on the Plus/4.

Are you getting an orange and dark green static patter? This is a 8501r1 chip issue. I assume that you have a PAL system.