PDA

View Full Version : Does *any* DOS IRC- Server exist?

TNC
October 16th, 2007, 12:28 PM
Hi there,

I`m searching the web for countless hours for a IRC- Server for DOS. Nothing. Does anybody know of one?

I know that Mike Chambers wrote a Client, is it possible that he might write a Server? :D

For myself I have no programming experience.

greets.

PhotoJim
October 26th, 2007, 06:14 PM
I'm not aware of any but if the machine is a 386 or better, running a Linux distribution on it is completely viable, and there are several IRC server packages for the various distributions of Linux. I ran an IRC server on a 25 MHz 486sx for quite some time and it worked very well.

TNC
October 28th, 2007, 02:56 PM
Well, the Problem is, that the Server has only 2 MB RAM, no way to upgrade. I think it will swap the swap process. :D

A possibly another Server is a 286 1 MB RAM booksize PC. The main reason for the IRC Server is to give them a new useful life. :-)

Mike Chambers
November 25th, 2007, 09:47 PM
Hi there,

I`m searching the web for countless hours for a IRC- Server for DOS. Nothing. Does anybody know of one?

I know that Mike Chambers wrote a Client, is it possible that he might write a Server? :D

greets.

i started writing a DOS IRC server a few months back, never finished it though. it was basically functioning: users could log in and create/chat in rooms.

i'll look for the disk i put it on, and you can try it out but i'm warning you it's pretty buggy lol :?

it only handles 10 users at once, because TCPDRV protocol stack for DOS sucks.

atari2600a
November 25th, 2007, 09:54 PM
Oh yeah I remember that server! I asked why /list & /whois wasn't working, & there was a few second lag time!

Mike Chambers
November 26th, 2007, 12:26 PM
Oh yeah I remember that server! I asked why /list & /whois wasn't working, & there was a few second lag time!

the lag time is because it was running on an 8088.

mbbrutman
November 26th, 2007, 01:09 PM