PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Nforce ms-6367. Help me, please



alex04
April 17th, 2004, 01:58 PM
HI:

I have a MSI ms-6367 (Chipset: Nforce 220D - IGP 64/128) motherboard. I bought a Althon XP 2200+ CPU but the motherboard detects it as Duron TM 1800MHZ.

The Motherboard's manual says that it supports Athlon XP 2200+.

My Bios Version is 1.3 (date: 07/09/04)

How I solve this problem?

Thanks.

Erik
April 17th, 2004, 02:10 PM
There are a bunch of other resources that would probably be better able to help with this type of problem.

I'd suggest starting with MSI website and, perhaps, doing a Google search for other MSI or modern motherboard support areas.

We're mostly concerned with vintage (10+ year old) stuff here.

Good luck!

Erik

carlsson
April 17th, 2004, 02:20 PM
However, it could be worthwhile to look in the BIOS settings for FSB. Your manual should tell you how. Since modern motherboards are set at the lowest supported speed not to damage your equipment, it may misinterpret your slow running CPU as something else than it is. I remember having similar issues with my AMD. Otherwise than that, I agree with Erik that there are better resources (but maybe not as friendly and forgiving) than this forum.

Terry Yager
April 17th, 2004, 05:30 PM
HI:

How I solve this problem?

Thanks.

Well, you could sell the whole works on eBay, and use the money to buy yourself a real (vintage) computer. (I have one for sale in the buying/selling section of this board).

--T

CP/M User
April 17th, 2004, 10:59 PM
"alex04" originally wrote:

"Erik" wrote:

> We're mostly concerned with vintage
> (10+ year old) stuff here.

"carlson" wrote:

> Otherwise than that, I agree with Erik
> that there are better resources (but
> maybe not as friendly and forgiving)
> than this forum.

"Terry Yager" wrote:

> Well, you could sell the whole works
> on eBay, and use the money to buy
> yourself a "real" (vintage) computer.
> (I have one for sale in the buying/
> selling section of this board).

Well from the way things look here, we
have someone who is asking in the
approrate place, about what seems to
be modern day hardware.

Not a great way to start your posts
here, since you've all hinted at the
same thing (with: try elsewhere),
though I guess they thought they
were doing the right thing (well full
credit for posting into the General - Off-
Topic section).

Terry, looking at you're statements it
would be great if some of them got
some Vintage Computers, though
unfortunately due to the changing times
a computer is required & while people
may have to buy an IBM compable of
some kind, it doesn't mean they want
to.

Looking at this problem, I'm assuming
there's the matter of 400Mhz missing,
which is just an annoying thing to have
(like your cars engine isn't running on all
Cylinders).

First thought might be to take it to a
computer technican to see if this
processor works on their Mainboard &
if so, at which speed?

Is Duron a AMD processor, or is that an
Intel or something else again?

My second problem is this:

> My Bios Version is 1.3 (date: 07/09/04)

If you look carefully, you'll see this date
isn't correct at all. If date = MM/DD/YYYY
then July 9th 2004 hasn't come yet, or if
you're like me & date = DD/MM/YYYY
then 7th September 2004 hasn't even
arrived. So if you're BIOS is saying this,
then there's a big problem with it &
perhaps you should get a computer
technican to replace it.
If it's just a common error (& you haven't
stated the correct date), then the BIOS
maybe an old one which needs to be
replaced with a later version, cause it
simply maybe a BIOS which doesn't
support this CPU.

Let us know how you get on! :-)

Cheers,
CP/M User.

Terry Yager
April 18th, 2004, 05:25 AM
CP/M User,

Yeah, I keep an IBM-compatable around (don't we all?) for the same reason I bought my first IBM-PC for about 12 years ago--for surfing the net looking up vintage computer resources.
BTW, I noticed that BIOS-date thing too, but I figgered it was just a typo.

alex04,

I appologeze if my comment sounded a little snippy, it wasn't meant that way at all. Actually, I was joking, but on second read, it may not be as obvious as I thought.

--T

CP/M User
April 18th, 2004, 07:55 PM
"Terry Yager" Wrote:

> Yeah, I keep an IBM-compatable around (don't
> we all?) for the same reason I bought my first
> IBM-PC for about 12 years ago--for surfing the
> net looking up vintage computer resources.
> BTW, I noticed that BIOS-date thing too, but
> I figgered it was just a typo.

Then we'd really need to establish when the BIOS
was made, cause if it's older than the processor,
then it may not support it.

The way the processors came out here (in
Australia) seemed like it was quite some time
between a 1.8 Ghz processor & a 2.2Ghz,
because when the 2.0 Ghz processor came it, it
seemed like it was out for some time. Also for
memory, the 2.0 Ghz processor was out when
Sept 11 2001 terrorist attacks occured (cause I
felt this slowed down the production of hardware).
1.8 Ghz would have been out, but not the 2.2Ghz.
So the way I see it, if the BIOS was made in 2002
(instead of 2004), then it may not support 2.2Ghz
processors (or it just depends on when the 2.2 Ghz
processor came out too).

> I appologeze if my comment sounded a little
> snippy, it wasn't meant that way at all. Actually,
> I was joking, but on second read, it may not be
> as obvious as I thought.

Actually, I'm sorry, cause I thought you were being
serious there.

CP/M User.

carlsson
April 18th, 2004, 11:25 PM
Yep, Duron is the budget version of Athlon (or used to be - I'm not sure how things will change for the future). Since I believe this is a kind of motherboard no longer produced (therefore vintage by a few months :-), I never considered the BIOS date which in reality probably reads 07/09/03.

Actually I was looking into buying one of those boards last year, but as my retailer said they were going out of supply, were hard to find and inferior to newer products for the same money, I went for something else.

PS1
April 19th, 2004, 04:46 PM
i have an msi motherboard ms6734 i would imagine its more or less the same.

according to the manual it supports amd athalon xp/athalon and duron.

i have a 1900mhz athalon installed in mine the motherboard reads correctly the only way i can see its reading wrong is u have a faulty motherboard.

i beleive on modern boards there is a way for the it to read the cpu type put in it and these msi boards are made for over clockers.

i tried fiddling with the speeds of the front side bus etc and i actually had it running slower but at no point did it display it as the wrong cpu.

so all i can think of is a your board is faulty or b you have been given the wrong chip.

i dont think there is an 1800mhz duron chip i think 1500mhz is as high as they go.