PDA

View Full Version : i have a computer id like to know more about



toadbanger
April 24th, 2004, 11:43 PM
hi im new to this building old computers.ive built 4 new ones all amd based ,but my question is i have a jameco technology case and inside the motherboard has two 386 sx chips and a prodesign vga card ,that hooks up to a tandy monitor and it runs off the powersupply ,a 3x cdrom ,a 1.4 floppy,a 120mb tape drive ? i was wondering if this was a home made computer or what? it boots up fine but must need a os and it runs normally at 8mhz or at turbo setting 25mhz. and would anybody know what os to use with this? its a big case , like a server case and heavy.any info would be appreciated. thanks if you need pictures of the components i could take some with my digital camera.

CP/M User
April 25th, 2004, 12:21 AM
"toadbanger" wrote:

> hi im new to this building old computers.ive built 4
> new ones all amd based ,but my question is i have
> a jameco technology case and inside the
> motherboard has two 386 sx chips and a prodesign
> vga card ,that hooks up to a tandy monitor and it
> runs off the powersupply ,a 3x cdrom ,a 1.4 floppy,
> a 120mb tape drive ? i was wondering if this was a
> home made computer or what? it boots up fine but
> must need a os and it runs normally at 8mhz or at
> turbo setting 25mhz. and would anybody know what
> os to use with this? its a big case , like a server case
> and heavy.any info would be appreciated. thanks if
> you need pictures of the components i could take
> some with my digital camera.

Sorry, I don't know anything about you're computer,
I'm guessing it would have run Windows for
Workgroups v3.1 or maybe 3.11 (that's the networking
version of Windows v3.1 or 3.11 which ran standard on
386s).

DOS mind you had some Networking software with
early versions of Novell Netware (can't remember
which version it was maybe 4 or 5), which "could"
be used in conjunction with Windows 3.x.

Actually, somewhere I've got a review of a simular
386 system (which IBM did & was inside a big box),
unfortunately I don't know where I put the darn
magazine, let me know if you want to know what it
ran & I'll try & find it.

Cheers,
CP/M User.

Erik
April 25th, 2004, 06:44 AM
It might also have been set up as a Novell server at one point. None of the earlier versions of Windows would do anything with a second processor. I'm pretty sure some Novell versions did.

In the end, though, it sounds like it's basically a PC or PC based server.

Erik

Terry Yager
April 25th, 2004, 06:46 AM
Having dual processors kinda limits the OS options, at least if they wanted to take advantage of the dual-mode operation (and why wouldn't they?). The OS would have been either some proprietary thing, or some flavor of *nix, back in the '386 days. You might get some later software to run on it, like OS/2 Warp 4 or mebbe Windows NT. It might even work with Win 2000 or 9x. Have you actually tried any of these OSs?
Then again, mebbe the processors don't work in parallel processing mode, mebbe one is used for just I/O processing to take some of the load off from the main processor, or some scheme like that.

--T

CP/M User
April 25th, 2004, 02:34 PM
"Terry Yager" wrote:

> Having dual processors kinda limits the OS options,
> at least if they wanted to take advantage of the
> dual-mode operation (and why wouldn't they?).
> The OS would have been either some proprietary
> thing, or some flavor of *nix, back in the '386
> days. You might get some later software to run
> on it, like OS/2 Warp 4 or mebbe Windows NT.

For memory, I was told that Warp 4 needed at least
a 486, but I think that was wrong advice (which was
from IBM! ;-) Warp 3 runs well, but needs serious
memory to really perform (say at least 8Mb). Win
NfW was the early version of Win NT wasn't it? Oh
hang on, NT was V4.x which was the Networking
version of Win 3.x?z

> It might even work with Win 2000 or 9x. Have
> you actually tried any of these OSs?

Those won't go with a 386, sure you can get 95 on
a 386, but it's recommended you have at least
386DX-33Mhz with Maths Co-processor. Win 2000
is definitely Pentium based, you maybe extremely
lucky in getting it to run on a 386, though one
would have to wonder about going to the trouble of
building something, just to hope & pray that Win
2000 would work! ;-)

> Then again, mebbe the processors don't work in
> parallel processing mode, mebbe one is used for
> just I/O processing to take some of the load off
> from the main processor, or some scheme like
> that.

Maybe that's possible, though it kinda blows the
theory I've seen. The machine I saw was a kind
of RISC machine, does that shine any light with
anyone, about what they do exactly?

Cheers,
CP/M User.