PDA

View Full Version : Mac Classic Floppy Drive



evildragon
November 19th, 2007, 09:23 PM
How sensitive is the drive in the Classic?

Formatting a disk sometimes don't work for most of my disks, and only a handful actually complete the format.

Also, even though the system disk is write protected, it managed to wipe it out, and corrupt the file system.

What do you guys think?

billdeg
November 22nd, 2007, 06:50 AM
if you have a working 400K disk drive, consider yourself lucky. vintagemicros.com may be able to sell you a refirb.

evildragon
November 22nd, 2007, 07:25 AM
if you have a working 400K disk drive, consider yourself lucky. vintagemicros.com may be able to sell you a refirb.
Mine is a superdrive, that's what the classic came with..

Another weird thing is sometimes a write-enabled floppy mounts as write protected.

Yzzerdd
November 22nd, 2007, 07:34 AM
I used to own a Classic(and now have a Classic II) and I have NEVER had a problem with the drives. I usually use standard-issue floppy disks(no problems there) but maybe you should go to your local Wal*Mart and spend $5 for some Macintosh formatted floppy-disks. They come in many colors.

--Ryan

evildragon
November 22nd, 2007, 08:42 AM
I used to own a Classic(and now have a Classic II) and I have NEVER had a problem with the drives. I usually use standard-issue floppy disks(no problems there) but maybe you should go to your local Wal*Mart and spend $5 for some Macintosh formatted floppy-disks. They come in many colors.

--Ryan
This drive even damaged it's own "System Disk" that came with the Classic.

I think the disk sense switches inside are failing, hence the write protect issue.

Croweater
December 11th, 2007, 04:02 PM
This drive even damaged it's own "System Disk" that came with the Classic.

I think the disk sense switches inside are failing, hence the write protect issue.

It could be a switch problem, but I am more inclined to think it might be a Systems error.

Which MACOS are you running ? OS 7 or something earlier or later than 7 ?

Croweater

Micom 2000
December 13th, 2007, 09:59 PM
Wow. There are several issues here. If you are talking about a "Mac Classic", TMK they used the superdrive. If your talking about a classic mac up to the Mac Plus which used 400 or 800 byte drives, then that is another thing. But in any case it sounds like youe FD is faulty and should be replaced.

Lawrence

evildragon
December 15th, 2007, 08:19 AM
Huh, problem turned out to be a lose RAM expansion card.