PDA

View Full Version : Browser for 7200/75



NathanAllan
June 14th, 2004, 05:52 AM
What is a good browser for said machine?? Mozilla's browser requires OSX which I am not running nor intend to. Any suggestions??

Nathan

Terry Yager
June 14th, 2004, 06:43 AM
What OS are you running? My 7200 has OS 8.-something on it. Have you tried to find an older version of Mozilla?

--T

carlsson
June 14th, 2004, 07:15 AM
This seems to be Netscape 7.02 for MacOS 8:

http://ftp.netscape.com/pub/netscape7/english/7.02/mac/macos8/sea/Netscape-mac-full.bin

I don't know which versions are available for e.g. System 7.5.3, which IIRC is the most recent one Apple gives out for free. I believe OS X is the only one they sell, and it would not work on your computer anyway. Such a dilemma!

vic user
June 14th, 2004, 09:25 AM
Hey Nathan;

I have a version of Netscape running on a Mac SE30, via OS7.5, so you should be able to find some browsers for sure.

here are a couple of links that may help you out:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/marinetti

http://sis.gwlink.net/

http://www.a2central.com/

chris

NathanAllan
June 15th, 2004, 08:26 AM
It has OS 9.something on it, so it ought to be fairly easy. Mozilla will work? I'll check it out. Thanks for all the links! An SE-30 can get online??? Whoa. Never thunk it. I have one of those too, just not here (left in TN). I'll have to definitely see what I can do. I have a link somewhere for network adapters for the toaster type machines, I might just see if I can get one to run a small network. Most excellent information! Thanks!

Nathan

NathanAllan
June 15th, 2004, 09:21 AM
I just came back from Shreve Systems' website and I am utterly overwhelmed from the amoutn of stuff they have for sale! WOW! When I get room for this stuff I am gonna be in HEAVEN!

vic user
June 15th, 2004, 09:30 AM
Mozilla! wicked browser!
i have it running via win 95, and it is the most stable browser that i can use for that os, i find, and it can access almost all sites, without getting thousands of javascript errors

i don't use the se30 for surfing the web, that's for sure :)
i do use it to telnet around though, on a mere 14.4 modem, and it flies through things, since it is all text :)

chris

vic user
June 16th, 2004, 06:27 AM
hey nathan;

here is another good link:
http://www.jagshouse.com/index.html

lots of stuff at the bottom of the page about getting old macs on the net.