Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: ADTPro question (also may be hardware related)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    101

    Default ADTPro question (also may be hardware related)

    I got my replacement Disk II yesterday and was attempting to bootstrap my Apple II+ using ADTPro. I managed to get ProDOS copied but when I attempted to send the ADTPro serial client it kept going to 42 blocks and then hanging/timing out. The drive I replaced with my new Disk II was fried by a bad cable and now I'm wondering if it's possible my controller card got damaged also.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,803

    Default

    Probably not. Apple drive controllers were nice that way. They either worked or they were toast.

    I don't recall if you can use the second connector and force a boot from that or not although someone else might know for sure.
    Last edited by Druid6900; August 15th, 2008 at 06:31 PM.
    Legacy Computers and Parts

    Sales of, parts for, and repairs to, Vintage and Legacy computers.

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi, nblsavage -

    Does your Apple II+ happen to have an accelerator (i.e. ZipChip) in it? If so, disable that. Also, can you try sending the client at one step slower (i.e. 115k -> 9600)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Nope - no Zip chip. I'll try dropping the speed. Also I've noticed another odd things. A ADTPro client disk that I created (and verified as working) using the old drive won't load using the new drive. The drive light will just stay lit and the Apple will just hang at "APPLE ]["

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nblsavage View Post
    The drive light will just stay lit and the Apple will just hang at "APPLE ]["
    Can you go through the bootstrapping procedure with your new drive? It sounds like either your drive speeds are calibrated differently or he head is dirty on one or the other.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Well, after going through the bootstrapping procedure again, I realize I misinformed you. My timeout problem happens when I'm trying to create a client floppy. I've also notced that when I try to format a floppy, it appears to work but the (F)ormat screen still shows the disk status as "no disk". I'm starting to think my "new" drive is a big old lemon. In fact it looks like I just verified that. I had a copy of the C64 version of "Kung Fu Master" which also has an Apple II version on the opposite side and it wouldn't boot either. Looks like I shouldn't have bitten on an "as-is" auction.

  7. #7

    Default

    The good news is that the drives are very repairable. They don't generally go bad; they just need TLC from time to time. Just get some repair manuals and dig in...

    http://apple2.sytes.net/Floppy_Maintenance/index.html
    http://home.swbell.net/rubywand/Csa2FDRIVE.html#003

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by david__schmidt View Post
    The good news is that the drives are very repairable. They don't generally go bad; they just need TLC from time to time. Just get some repair manuals and dig in...

    http://apple2.sytes.net/Floppy_Maintenance/index.html
    http://home.swbell.net/rubywand/Csa2FDRIVE.html#003
    My thanks for those links! And for everyone's help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Well, I've confirmed that both drives are toast without IC repacement. I've got a line on the non-apple drive part but I'm trying to find a decent source for a HD74LS125AP.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nblsavage View Post
    Well, I've confirmed that both drives are toast without IC repacement. I've got a line on the non-apple drive part but I'm trying to find a decent source for a HD74LS125AP.
    Jameco carries them

    http://www.jameco.com

    part #46501 .36 each

    Vince
    Briel Computers
    retro hobby kits
    http://www.brielcomputers.com

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •