Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Dead Mac LC475

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default Dead Mac LC475

    A few years ago I received a Mac LC475 for free when cleaning out in the student union. It worked well - I even got onto Internet with it since it has a network card. My dad used it for a short while before getting a 486 PC.

    Since then, it has been stored in our basement, but recently I rescued it from there. My dad said the monitor may have toppled over once, but I don't know if it is broken or not.

    Sadly the computer doesn't seem to boot anymore. I turn it on, get the "happy" boing-sound, the hard drive begins to spin up but then nothing happens. I can't tell if the monitor is OK, but have tried to remove removable components with no avail. Bah.

    I read on some mailing list that it may be the CMOS battery which went bad, but would the computer say "boing" if it is out of battery? It is a neat little machine, so it could be fun to save, but if it doesn't work... any obvious ideas? Someone suggested make a bootable floppy - can it be done from a Linux PC? - but even when inserting a random Mac formatted floppy, it doesn't even attempt to access it.

    If nothing else, I believe can reuse the 8 MB 72pinn SIMM with my Amiga, but the SCSI drive, Nubus network card etc I have little use for.
    Anders Carlsson

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    Reply to myself: the behavior is the same without a battery (best before July 1994), so if it is cheap, I might pick up a new one. 3.6V lithium, size "1/2 AA".
    Anders Carlsson

  3. #3

    Default

    i am sure it will be cheap.

    probably like $5.00 canadian here for that battery

    chris
    The vic rocks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    Sonnenschein SL-150, a.k.a. Tadiran TL-5151 or Saft LS14250. It has the dimensions 14.7 x 25.2 mm, not to be confused with similar 3V batteries. I don't have a battery tester handy, so I can check if it is really is out.

    http://www.batterycenter.com/lithiumWindow.html

    The cheapest I can find around here costs at least $10/battery. I'll see if I bother. In the mean time, I'll see if my '030 expansion card really will swallow the 8 MB SIMM. I don't need 10 MB on my Amiga, but if it works, it is better than throw it away...

    Update: Bah, the Amiga still only reports 4 MB.. maybe the memory module is too slow (80 ns?) - the expansion card manual says 70 ns or faster.
    Anders Carlsson

  5. #5

    Default

    i have two lc ii's, which i assume use the same battery as yours

    if you can't find a battery let me know and i will mail you a used one
    The vic rocks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    Thanks for the offer. I never thought it would be difficult to find a suitable battery, only difficult to find a cheap replacement.

    I had located an electronics expert in a distant (well, a few miles away) part of the town, but don't know their price. Their source (ELFA) however asked at least $10 per battery and that was a 3V version I'm not sure would work anyway.

    Today I was downtown for another errand (emergency ink cartridge for the fax at work) and thought I would ask at some places. I knew that the cheap a-little-of-everything place (Clas Ohlson, where I bought the ink) didn't keep this kind of battery in their sortiment. I asked at the old computer shop (before C64/Amiga, now PC) but alas, no luck.

    However, at the radio store across the street, they maintained a row of this kind of battery. I suppose they sell some equipment today which uses 3.6V Li. They asked 100 SEK, which is about $14 but it is Saft LS-14250, the high-capacity model which can be bought online from ELFA for 108 SEK + shipping and I suppose the local reseller would like to add a few crowns himself for profit. So on chance, I decided this is the luxury for the weekend and bought one. They also checked my old one, and it was stone dead.

    Now we'll see if this cures my Mac or not. Hopefully it does, but I don't really know what I'm going to use it for (25 MHz 68LC040, System 7.5, network card).
    Anders Carlsson

  7. #7

    Default

    hope it works.

    we use our mac's at home, primarily for word processing and also to telnet around. we have nothing runner higher than os 7.5.

    i do prefer os 7.1 though.

    if you keep the 'bells and whistles' down to a minimum, i find these old mac's can function fairly quickly.

    i also use that freeware program "transmac" to transfer files from a mac formatted floppy onto my pc, which gives them added functionality

    chris
    The vic rocks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    For a MacOS ignorant like me, what is the major differences between 7.1 and 7.5 ? (which still is the most recent version Apple offers for free download AFAIK)

    Regarding disk transfer, I believe my machine has a SuperDrive, so it reads PC formatted floppies instead of doing the opposite.

    Once I wanted to get Linux/BSD onto it, but due to a CPU bug in a particular bunch of chips, it is not possible to get FPU emulation to work neither in MacOS nor in the other OSes which for some reason want it. The alternative would be to find a true 68040 chip, but since I don't really use Linux on my Athlon PC (despite having it installed and occupying ~ 10 GB), I can't see myself use it on a much slower Mac neither...

    Maybe as some firewall/router, but it would be more work finding suitable software than to configure my old Pentium 200 to do the same work and with higher capacity. Oh well, I can surely think of something or else I can try to sell it if it works... :P
    Anders Carlsson

  9. #9

    Default

    I don't know the exact differences between all the os's (and man there are lots of versions of os7!), but i can dig up the info from one of my books at home, if you are interested.

    i find os7.1 has less add ons, and is not as robust as 7.5 or 7.5.5, but runs much faster on my old mac's. perhaps if i had more ram in my old mac's then os 7.5 and what not, would run faster and perhaps i would go with them.

    but i do find os 7.1 boots up quick, of course not as quick as 0s 6 or anything.

    chris
    The vic rocks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    It turned out to be System S1-7.1 after all.. my memory was bad.

    Yes, the Mac booted nicely after replacing battery, and I'm wrting this message on it. The keyboard is a little sticky and of course the computer overall is much slower than the PC I'm used too, but it works.

    In order to run Netscape 3, I had to activate 32-bit addressing and virtual memory. It turns out I also have something called Connectix RAM Doubler which conflicts with virtual memory - I don't know which is to prefer. I'm also leaning towards the SIMM is 4MB just like the onboard memory, since it is displayed 8MB internal and 12MB virtual. Maybe the RAM doubler would only use 8MB virtual but be faster, while the traditional virtual memory uses as much as is possible.

    Did I mention the HD is 80MB, of which 15MB is free (for virtual disk)?

    It was a little difficult to configure network settings - I can't understand the difference between Manual, Server and Dynamic, since it seems I have to configure everything myself anyway. Thanks to the Windows PC next to it, I could manually set IP, gateway and DNS to the values my DHCP server just gave me.

    Ok, it works. The disk also contains MS Excel 5, MS Word 6 and some other stuff (why both MS Word, Claris Works and MacWrite?). I have an old 300 MB SCSI in the drawer, but it would take too much work to install MacOS onto it and replace the internal drive.
    Anders Carlsson

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •