Image Map Image Map

Thread: Power supply for original Wang Professional Computer (PC-XC3-2 or PC-002?)

Default Power supply for original Wang Professional Computer (PC-XC3-2 or PC-002?)

I need a power supply for an original Wang Professional computer, PC-XC3-2, of failing that a schematic of the power supply. I believe the power supply was made by Harris.

My Wang PC has the wider body, allowing a couple extra cards, and the power supply is turned on & off by a switch on front of the computer -- not the back.

Any leads, advice, or whatever would be appreciated.

Blog Entries

Have you tried repairing the PSU? Often times (>80% of the time), the problem is bad capacitors.

Default Repairing the PSU?

While I'm an Electrical Engineer (Retired) I have never been that into power supplies and what I did learn, is now obsolete with all these switching power supplies.

Inside the power supply box (a bit larger than a regular PC PSU) there are two cards mounted at right angles to each other and one is plugged in to the other. This makes it really difficult to do any live troubleshooting. One board seems to be dedicated to power line to DC conversion and I think the other board does the switching action.

It is too difficult for me to troubleshoot without a schematic and some voltage values.

The large capacitors look ok and are not warm to the touch.

No voltages are being output -- +12, -12, +5, and maybe another. All are zero.

One question: is it safe to troubleshoot these power supplies with no load on the output voltages?

Thanks for your help and I look forward to more suggestions.

Blog Entries

Most switching PSUs have undercurrent/overvoltage shutdown, so they need some sort of load. A good dummy load is a spare hard disk drive (an old IDE drive is fine).