Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: THE OS Quiz

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Back of Burke (Guday!), Australia
    Posts
    2,924

    Default THE OS Quiz



    This is ridiculus - how can I be described by some OS site that I'm a
    worthless piece of Crap - when by definition I'm not even an OS. Sure I
    messed around with some of those questions - but it's not even
    technically correct. Even GEM doesn't even carry the duty of being an OS,
    sure they both have friendly way of handling files - but it's all the
    underlying OS which does the hard yards.

    What a ridiculus quiz this is - I mean it implies I need GUI to function, but
    nothing else - doesn't make sesne. I didn't even give the slightest hint
    that I needed a Mouse & yet this is what it offers. Insane.

    Sure I can see the funny side to it - but lets face it, an OS is an OS - not
    Windows 1.0.

    CP/M User.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,241

    Default

    At least you didn't end up Windows ME......

    -V

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Back of Burke (Guday!), Australia
    Posts
    2,924

    Default

    "vlad" wrote:

    -> At least you didn't end up Windows ME......

    I never used either Windows ME or 1.0 for that matter. I've used Windows
    286, which from what I was told is more advanced that Windows 1.x. I
    have no idea what ME is supposed to be like - seemed to have gone as
    quickly as it came. Might be worth something someday ;-)

    CP/M User.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    I wonder if there is any configuration where 2000/XP is too big/slow but ME is suitable. My brother picked up a 450 MHz Pentium III for my dad last weekend, and suggested to install ME onto it. I vetoed for 98SE in that case, but it may end up with XP.
    Anders Carlsson

  5. #5

    Default

    my pIII dell from 2000 came with ME, at first it was fine but the next few weeks it had locked up and/or crashed more than me win 95 machine that replaced it, last july i upgraded to XP and maxed out its RAM (512mb) and its a happy little machine now From what i gather win 1.x isnt an OS it is just a GUI extension of MS-DOS although i could be mistaken, as far as what ME is like the interface is like 2K but 2K is much more reliable.
    When you think you've invented something idiot proof. someone comes along and invents a better idiot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Saginaw, MI, USA 48601
    Posts
    8,763
    Blog Entries
    9

    Default

    Win 1x wasn't even much of a GUI, more like a file manager or DOS shell (I think they called it an 'executive'). It's windowing capabilities were severely limited, especially when compared to it's competitors, GEM, GEOS, DeskMate, TopView, DesqView, VisiOn, etc. And multi-tasking?...Forget it! I always preferred DeskMate, myself, it had the best-looking interface. MicroSoft won out in the end, not because thier product was superior, but simply because they had the clout to see to it that more apps were produced for Windows than for any of the other programs (they could apply a lot of pressure onto smaller software companies).

    --T
    Teach your children how to think, not what, and hold 'em close, not tight.
    _____________________________________________

    Please visit the Vintage-Computer Wiki. Contributers welcome.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2,241

    Default

    Screw Windows 1x, The DOS shell was way easier to navigate. Come to think of it, I never used MS-DOS. I only have used IBM DOS (Yes it IBM's DOS and I have the Floppy to prove it.) and the Windows XP Command Prompt. (not DOS, just a goofy prompt) Otherwise I was all UNIX and Bash prompt all the way.....

    -V

  8. #8

    Default

    <quote>I always preferred DeskMate, myself, it had the best-looking interface</quote>

    yeah, i find it pretty cozy looking.

    i have it on my tandy hx-1000, and it works pretty darn good for being on floppy.

    chris
    The vic rocks!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •