Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: amiga 500 to tv

  1. #1

    Default amiga 500 to tv

    hi could any 1 tell me if you can connect an amiga 500 to a tv without using the modulator thank you, happy vintage gaming

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eddiendvicky View Post
    hi could any 1 tell me if you can connect an amiga 500 to a tv without using the modulator
    Amiga 500 appears to only provide RGB video out and composite video out, so you'd need an appropriate monitor or an RF modulator.

  3. #3

    Default

    Also, the composite video out on an Amiga 500 only produces a monochrome picture.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    Fortunately, Gateshead suggests the United Kingdom which would mean PAL, SCART-land. In that area, it is much easier to find a regular TV that takes 50 Hz, 15.625 kHz RGB input as the Amiga outputs. You just need a special SCART cable, which can be found on eBay and other marketplaces. However bear in mind the build quality of the cable can affect picture quality. I have a SCART cable to one of my Amiga 1200's, and the image quality is only slightly better than composite video through RF modulator. It might depend on which TV it is connected to, but other (slightly lower resolution) SCART enabled computers like MSX2 produces much better image on the same small 14" CRT TV.
    Anders Carlsson

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    33,386
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    Do you suppose the poor results in RGB are due to the inherent bandpass of the TV? If it's the cable, perhaps a series peaking coil could improve things.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    96

    Default

    What other options are available? I have an EGA monitor with the 9-pin dsub connector, is it possible to hook this up to the Amiga?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    Chuck: I am not sure. I have a couple higher resolution Sony monitors which take SCART RGB. I might try to plug in an Amiga on that display and see if the picture quality is any sharper. For reference, using a 23-to-9 cable on a 1084 gives a much sharper picture than SCART on a 14" TV. Then again, there is a reason why people want dedicated computer monitors even if they visually resemble a TV.

    Regarding EGA monitor, does it accept analog (0.7Vpp) signals? I'm not sure about the horizontal and vertical sync frequencies for EGA.
    Anders Carlsson

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN - USA
    Posts
    872
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Amiga is 15k, analog RGB, Ega is 15k and 24?k RGBI, so in theory it should work like a cga monitor, but look terrible because it would only show 8 colors.
    There are plenty of UK amiga users over at amibay.com that would be able to tell you how to make a scart cable for your 500, this should give comparable video quality to the 1084 because it's the same signal. Alot of uk people are even using older 4:3 lcd tvs that have scart input.

    Later,
    dabone

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dabone View Post
    Amiga is 15k, analog RGB, Ega is 15k and 24?k RGBI, so in theory it should work like a cga monitor, but look terrible because it would only show 8 colors.
    Yeah, an EGA monitor wouldn't work, but CGA is the right frequency. As for the 8 colors, a long time ago I modified an IBM CGA monitor to be an analog monitor - bypassing the video input circuit on the board and driving the video amplifiers directly.

    -Ian

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    With respect of getting slightly off-topic, I wonder if the Microvitec CUBs (mostly seen in the UK) consist of a such internal modification, as I have a faint memory of having read they can be used both with BBC Micro (TTL RGB) and other systems using analog RGB. Or perhaps the reference I read about was someone who had modified it in the same way RetroHacker mentions.
    Anders Carlsson

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •