Image Map Image Map
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Bringing up a Pentium system...

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    24,123
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IBM View Post
    Yes, Vodoo and some other early 3D video cards only did 3D - the 2D portion required you to use another card and hook up a pass thru. I had an Encore DVD card that let you play DVDs on a machine as slow as a 133 MHz Pentium. How can a 133 Mhz Pentium decode DVDs without dropped frames or slowdowns? Well it had a special add-in card that did the MPEG2 decoding in hardware. It also thus needed a pass-thru. Strange times.
    At one time, this was the only (legal) way to play DVDs on a computer, as the decoding algorithm was treated as secret and proprietary by an industry consortium calling itself DVD CSS.

    The remainder of the story is a fascinating story filled with lawyers, judges and hackers.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    DE, USA..
    Posts
    2,701

    Default

    I have three of those decoder cards and not one of the special cables needed to use them.

    I really want to toss one in my hotrod Pentium system - plus it'd be amusing since it's already AGP 2x Matrox G250 -> Voodoo 2, so it'd have dual passthroughs then.. xD
    Resident Self-Proclaimed 486 and Pentium-class Machine Expert
    More commonly known as "Yushatak"
    www.yushatak.com

  3. #23

    Default

    So here's an idle question - I'd like to tweak the BIOS so that it doesn't reject non-Intel CPUs (I've got an AMD K6 and a couple Cyrix MIIs it'd be fun to try out.) I figure if I trace things from boot in a disassembly, it can't be too far in, hopefully, and I can dike out the relevant instructions and re-flash it. The problem is, the ROM image for the BIOS update, used with Intel's iflash.exe utility, is divided into four BIN files (three 64KB files and one 40KB,) four REC files (correspondingly-sized,) and one RCV file (16KB,) and I can't figure out where the initial BIOS segment (F000:0000-FFFF) is in these. If I look at that segment on the actual computer, via DEBUG, I see an AMIBIOS header, but that's nowhere to be found in the ROM files. I don't think they're encrypted, since there's copyright notices sprinkled throughout, but there's no other text visible.

    Is there a good guide to Pentium-era BIOS hacking out there? How does iflash.exe's file format work? Is what's provided the complete BIOS, or is there another, non-flashable part that's what's mapped in the F000 segment?

    This isn't vitally important, but it would be nice.
    Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
    Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/HS-80/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/M1, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Emax HD/Proteus-2, Casio CZ-5000, Moog Satellite, Sequential Circuits Prophet-600
    "'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NeXT View Post
    I can't seem to upgrade higher than 133mhz on mine though but otherwise it's still a good box.
    Interesting that the screen shot lists as Pentium MMX
    or is it a faster MMX Pentium under-clocked on the board?
    There are 10 types of people in this world:
    those who understand binary and those who don't. ~Author Unknown

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,268
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Could also be using the mobile/low power version, was available as 133 MMX.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    6,150
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Raven View Post
    I have three of those decoder cards and not one of the special cables needed to use them.

    I really want to toss one in my hotrod Pentium system - plus it'd be amusing since it's already AGP 2x Matrox G250 -> Voodoo 2, so it'd have dual passthroughs then.. xD
    I still have my Sigma Designs Hollywood+ with cable around here somewhere. The passthrough cable is kind of crappy so if you do high resolution on the primary video card the output is fuzzy.

    Lots of Pentium 1 based Thinkpads (76x, 77x) could also decode DVD with a built in DSP chip and an external dongle cabe to rca/svhs output to a tv.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Somewhere near Chicago
    Posts
    645

    Default

    Yep! Mine even has tv out, and joystick connections, 166mmx. 365XLD. Very similar to the 760 line. If anyone is looking for either cable let me know , I have a spare of each.
    '. \ / .'
    '. .'``'. .'
    ......:::::::`.....`::
    Currently seeking a Compaq Deskpro 386

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •