Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 85

Thread: Problem with CMS upgrade on a rev0 CT1350

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ioannina , Greece
    Posts
    177

    Question Problem with CMS upgrade on a rev0 CT1350

    Hello!

    Thanks to Chuck(G)'s amazing work I managed to get 2 gals with the program (thanks to the community-helping member DK) in order to upgrade my 2 rev0 CT1350 cards.
    I installed the gals, the 1099Ps and removed the CMS-OFF jumper. Tested with Paku Paku and Monkey Island and CMS works fine!
    BUT
    the moment you install the cms upgrade you lose the SB functionality. Another member in VOGONS had this problem and I decided to test more extensively my system. (see vogons thread HERE )
    For this purpose I am using my IBM PS1/pro pc and mainly Alone In The Dark game... the computer and game(s) work fine with another SB model installed or a 1350B rev0 without the csm upgrade.

    Here is what I found:

    With the CMS upgrades fully installed does not even get detected in alone in the dark.
    • if you use a previous sb config and just enter the game then all you get is sb sfx. FM is dead. you cannot enable it at all.
    • if you remove the gal the cards gets detected and sfx/music works but the 1099Ps make noises, one needs to remove them too.
    • messing with the DMA sharing jumper makes no difference... also tried with the 12/13 jumpers (no dice - they just enable/disable sb/fm) and J14 that hanhs the pc when it is removed and you try to use the sb in any way.


    I also tried with Eye of the Beholder III setup program, it does see the SB part but complains there is no FM part for the midi. (needless to say both games are originals without any cracks or funny stuff running)

    Is there any solution to this problem? could it be that rev0 cards need another GAL program?
    thanks for any info/tips!
    Last edited by keropi; February 28th, 2012 at 02:00 AM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Hello all,

    I have the same problem too.. Its very strange..

    I have also upgraded it with CMS chips and programmed GAL..

    Iam also tested with PAKU / CMS then i got sound FM and FX
    When iam starting the game with PAKU / ADLIB the game works, but the sound is dead on FM and FX too..

    Because a limit of games i have here, i also tested it with THE CHALLANGE; Winter games..Released by accolade made by mindspan..
    PC speaker is working fine.. When i tried Adlib, it couldnt detect the card.. If iam using soundblaster.. It couldnt detect my card too.. But when iam setting only the FX part on soundblaster, i have got FX sounds, but the FM music part is dead as mentioned above in the first post..

    I also tried the 2 driver packages, the older and the new one i guess.. It comes with testing software..

    The first package have TEST-SBC.EXE. If iam using that one, it detects the whole card settings, and can testing the sound.
    Both FX and FM music is working then..

    When i tried the second package, and it comes with DIAGNOSTIC.EXE.. Then it can detect my card settings. BUT when iam want to test the sounds, the whole system is frozen.. Then i only can reboot again..

    So it looks the CMS could be working, and soundblaster FX is working

    The whole Adlib / Soundblaster FM part is just dead..
    THE BIOS MASTER

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    28,931
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Well, sorry to see this happen. The SB board I used (as well as the upgrade PAL) was what I worked from. As I no longer have either, there's little that I can do to help. But here are some thoughts:

    It could be that there are different versions of the upgrade PAL--or different ways the PAL socket is wired. I did make use of the way the socket on the borrowed one was wired to get at the result, but it could be that not all revs are wired the same.

    Dunno--as it stands, I can't really figure out anything as I no longer have the board.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ioannina , Greece
    Posts
    177

    Default

    thanks for replying Chuck(G) !
    I have 2 rev0 boards and I can spare one to science , but would it be enough to figure out why it won't work when I don't have an original GAL?

    this is the board btw...


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    28,931
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    About the best I can do is take the rev0 board and my work and see if there are any inconsistencies. If you want to give that a try, I'm game for it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ioannina , Greece
    Posts
    177

    Default

    sending you a PM Chuck(G)!

  7. #7

    Default

    Is there any progress yet?
    THE BIOS MASTER

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    28,931
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Well, funny you should ask--I just struggled a bit with my programmer today (turned out to be a bad cable--doh!).

    I burned a NS GAL16V8 and tried it and it works fine. I note that you're using a Lattice GAL16V8D, using my JEDEC file for the 16V8. That might be the fly in the ointment--I did verify that your fuse map matched mine. However, that doesn't tell us if Lattice goofed around with the fuse meanings. I'll probably have some sort of answer this week.

    Programmable logic can be like networking or SCSI--Voodoo.

  9. #9

    Default

    Whats an NS GAL16V8?
    THE BIOS MASTER

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    28,931
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    National Semiconductor. GAL technology has been sold and passed around a lot.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •