Image Map Image Map
Page 39 of 40 FirstFirst ... 29353637383940 LastLast
Results 381 to 390 of 400

Thread: XTIDE Universal BIOS v2.0.0 beta testing thread

  1. #381
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Albany, OR USA
    Posts
    652
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Actually Switches on HotShot are set as follows:

    OFF OFF ON ON 0CC000-0EFFFFH

    I was mistaken when I specified

    CC000 to DFFFF

    P.S.

    I'm willing to experiment as much as you like. It may take me some time to get to sometimes. Real life gets in the way of hobbies every now and then.

  2. #382
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    4,482
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Krille View Post
    Perhaps one or two NOPs strategically placed in the XTIDE_INSW macro will suffice but that's assuming the problem only affects reads. Ideas and suggestions are very welcome!
    I would recommend against NOPs because that's not going to work with any other situation, whereas something that clears the prefetch queue (JMP $+2) or gives the bus time to settle (OUT EEh, AL) are true delays and will work consistently.
    Offering a bounty for:
    - Documentation and original distribution disks for: Panasonic Sr. Partner, Corona PPC-400, Zenith Z-160 series
    - Music Construction Set, IBM Music Feature edition (has red sticker on front stating IBM Music Feature)
    - Any very old/ugly IBM joystick (such as the Franklin JS-123)

  3. #383
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Albany, OR USA
    Posts
    652
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ibmapc View Post
    ... I'll try it later with upper memory cache disabled and the r591 XUB and report back.
    Setting the HotShot with all upper memory cache disabled made no difference. When using ANY version of XUB newer than r588, the DOM is not found at boot time. I even tried disabling all cache including the lower 640k. Still no go. So, maybe this is not a cache problem after all.

  4. #384

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trixter View Post
    I would recommend against NOPs because that's not going to work with any other situation, whereas something that clears the prefetch queue (JMP $+2) or gives the bus time to settle (OUT EEh, AL) are true delays and will work consistently.
    Normally I would agree but this fix would be only for this specific combination of hardware so it doesn't really matter if it depends on CPU speed. In any case, it's all academic now anyway.

    Quote Originally Posted by ibmapc View Post
    So, maybe this is not a cache problem after all.
    Indeed, so we are back to square one. Could the reason be some obscure CPU bug? Is it possible to replace the CPU on the Hotshot?
    Looking for a cache card for the "ICL ErgoPRO C4/66d V"

  5. #385
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Albany, OR USA
    Posts
    652
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Krille View Post
    ...Indeed, so we are back to square one. Could the reason be some obscure CPU bug? Is it possible to replace the CPU on the Hotshot?
    I don't know which type of chip is on it. I can't even remember if it's socketed. But I'll take the cover off later this weekend and have a look.
    BTW, What advantage do the newer revs have over r588? So far I've been satisfied with r588, although I think it's not as fast as my ADP50L, but I think it's more reliable. I've had a few occurrences of data corruption wit the ADP50L. In fact, one of my future projects is to replace the bios on the ADP50L with an XTIDE bios to see if I can see larger drives and improve reliability with it.

  6. #386

    Default

    Hi All, I'm running r580 on my Lo-tech Compact Flash ISA board in my Tandy 1000 EX and in general it is great - one question tho, is there anyway to speed up the free space calculation DOS does after doing a directory listing?
    My Retro Collection:
    CBM: C64, Amiga 500 x2, 600 & 1200
    Mac's: SE, LC630 & Beige G3
    PC's: K6-III+ 500 System & Tandy 1000 EX 640kb, 3.5" FDD, CF-IDE 4GB HDD
    Synth: Roland MT-32

  7. #387
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    4,482
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    The only ways to speed that up is to either get a faster processor, or intentionally craft special partitions that use low numbers of clusters. The slowness comes from how DOS calculates free space, not from anything the XTIDE or your media is doing.

    On the plus side, it's only slow the first time you do DIR -- all subsequent DIRs are fast.
    Offering a bounty for:
    - Documentation and original distribution disks for: Panasonic Sr. Partner, Corona PPC-400, Zenith Z-160 series
    - Music Construction Set, IBM Music Feature edition (has red sticker on front stating IBM Music Feature)
    - Any very old/ugly IBM joystick (such as the Franklin JS-123)

  8. #388

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trixter View Post
    The only ways to speed that up is to either get a faster processor, or intentionally craft special partitions that use low numbers of clusters. The slowness comes from how DOS calculates free space, not from anything the XTIDE or your media is doing.

    On the plus side, it's only slow the first time you do DIR -- all subsequent DIRs are fast.
    That's pretty much what I suspected, thanks for confirming it.
    My Retro Collection:
    CBM: C64, Amiga 500 x2, 600 & 1200
    Mac's: SE, LC630 & Beige G3
    PC's: K6-III+ 500 System & Tandy 1000 EX 640kb, 3.5" FDD, CF-IDE 4GB HDD
    Synth: Roland MT-32

  9. #389
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I have the Beta 3 2.0.0 running on my 486 (Ti 486, actually a Cyric DX266) as it's bios did not recognise my 8gb SSD. This SSD is a better option than a CF-card for me, but I'm unable to find a smaller SSD than 8GB.
    Anyway: it gets recognised by XT IDE Universal Bios 2.0.0 beta 3, it works great, but every now and then it either doesn't recognise the drive at all, or just doesn't want to read certain files.
    Power the pc down, remove the SSD and re-insert it into the IDE port and it will run again.
    Or sometimes it just says "no boot sector found". Pull it of, put it back, running great again.

    Could this be a bug in the software or is this a hardware problem? (maybe one of the connectors isn't 100%) Just to know what to do, try or test next.

  10. #390

    Default

    I'm inclined to say it's a hardware problem but I suppose it could be a timing problem of sorts. Hard to say really.

    It sounds like you're using the old and buggy beta 3 version? If so, try the latest version available from here. Not that I expect that to fix the problem but you never know. Also, you could try the SSD in another machine with a different BIOS - if it works there then it's probably not a hardware problem.
    Looking for a cache card for the "ICL ErgoPRO C4/66d V"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •