Image Map Image Map
Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 345678 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 72

Thread: Trident VGA and IBM PC

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ioannina , Greece
    Posts
    173

    Default

    Thanks to SkydivingGirl's heads up I was able to do the modification on my card and it works now on my Hyundai clone
    I improvised a little to make it a little cleaner, after severing the ALE trace I just made a small solder bridge to the +5v plane at the backside since both the former ALE via and +5v planes are really close.




    edit:
    a piece of advice -> count the Trident IC pins and don't rely on the silkscreen indicating pin20 , it's a little offset and it actually points to pin19
    Last edited by keropi; December 1st, 2017 at 05:16 AM.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Albany, OR USA
    Posts
    759
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keropi View Post
    ...I improvised a little to make it a little cleaner, after severing the ALE trace I just made a small solder bridge to the +5v plane at the backside since both the former ALE via and +5v planes are really close.

    I like that better. I'm not a big fan of putting tape on the finger. It could come off when pulling the card out and stay down in the ISA connector, causing problems with the next card to be plugged in there. It also looks easier putting the solder bridge on the back of the card instead of the wire on the chip.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Raleigh, NC, USA
    Posts
    467

    Default

    Nice job keropi!

    Does anyone know if there would ever be a need to undo this mod to use the card in some systems or should it work in everything with this mod done?

    Heather

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,829

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SkydivinGirl View Post
    Does anyone know if there would ever be a need to undo this mod to use the card in some systems or should it work in everything with this mod done?
    Well, given sergey's extensive testing above (including a 286, which should have way different handling of ALE anyway), I think it should be fine in everything. Of course, there are so many PCs that you never know for sure.
    Last edited by Scali; December 2nd, 2017 at 07:26 AM.

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Ioannina , Greece
    Posts
    173

    Default

    For what it's worth I also tested on my 386DX build, worked fine

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Silicon Forest, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    664

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keropi View Post
    Thanks to SkydivingGirl's heads up I was able to do the modification on my card and it works now on my Hyundai clone
    I improvised a little to make it a little cleaner, after severing the ALE trace I just made a small solder bridge to the +5v plane at the backside since both the former ALE via and +5v planes are really close.




    edit:
    a piece of advice -> count the Trident IC pins and don't rely on the silkscreen indicating pin20 , it's a little offset and it actually points to pin19
    That's a good idea for implementing this mod. Thank you for the picture!

  7. #67

    Default

    Sergey will you be making new design? I finally want to make your VGA (working)

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Silicon Forest, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    664

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archeocomp View Post
    Sergey will you be making new design? I finally want to make your VGA (working)
    Eventually I'll do a board re-spin. Perhaps early next year.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Silicon Forest, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    664

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archeocomp View Post
    Sergey will you be making new design? I finally want to make your VGA (working)
    I fixed the schematic, connecting TVGA controller ALE signal to 5V, and updated the PCB layout. The new design files are available on the project page. Look for version 1.1.

    I haven't reordered the PCBs, and I don't plan to do that in the near future. Meanwhile the PCB can be ordered from OSH Park

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Raleigh, NC, USA
    Posts
    467

    Default

    Excellent work by everyone in this thread! I was super impressed with this card in my Commodore PC10-III and now I'm able to use one in my 5160. Thanks everyone!

    I'd be willing to put together a group buy if people were interested in getting a batch of PCBs made. Otherwise, I'll probably order a few from Oshpark.

    Heather

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •