Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: video cards not working with OS/2 warp on PB computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default video cards not working with OS/2 warp on PB computer

    I'm having a few minor issues with a socket 5 packard bell (i know i cant keep away from these things) http://j12345.users1.50megs.com/menu...600LAY.ASP.htm . I currently have OS/2 warp installed and when using the on board video it loads and displays fine but when I add any video card it hangs on loading OS/2. I'm pretty sure its an OS/2 issue since the computer will display the post and the inital OS/2 warp splash screen then it just hangs right at the point it should go to the desktop. I've tried an s3 Virge card and an ati mach64 and had the same issue. there's no way to disable the on board video on this machine and according to the page I linked the on board auto disables when a secondary card is added.

    another weird issue i'm having is the CPU. its a Pentium 120mhz and according to the site the board does support it but at post its detected as a P100. I checked the jumpers several times and they are set correctly for a p120...actually as an experiment i tried playing with the jumpers and no matter what its detected as a p100. prior to this I have a p75 installed and it detected fine as a p75.

    booting via a floppy to dos the ATI or Virge work fine. running speedsys the CPU is detected as running 100mhz so its not just the BIOS string. also whats wierd is BOTH the on board cirrus logic and the ATI are being reported for the video card under speedsys.
    Last edited by oblivion; September 27th, 2013 at 12:26 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,895
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Try pressing ALT+F2 when the OS/2 boot blob is displayed on the top left hand corner of the screen. It should show you the drivers loading and might display some useful info.

    ALT+F1 gives the option to load standard vga mode similar to Windows 9x safe mode.
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Caluser2000 View Post
    Try pressing ALT+F2 when the OS/2 boot blob is displayed on the top left hand corner of the screen. It should show you the drivers loading and might display some useful info.

    ALT+F1 gives the option to load standard vga mode similar to Windows 9x safe mode.
    thanks! loading the standard VGA drivers did the trick. i'm new to os/2, figured I would try it out. guess I just need to find os/2 video drivers for my card now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,895
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Good stuff. You might find something suitable- http://www.s3graphics.com/en/drivers...e_archive.aspx

    What variant of Warp are you trying out? I'm certainly no expert myself but have v3 on a 486 system and was running v4 FP14 for a bit on a Celeron 350 system at one point. There's more experienced old OS/2 users on VCF. It's interesting OS/2 still lives on in the form of eComstation.

    Don't forget a picture or two to show your progress.
    Last edited by Caluser2000; September 27th, 2013 at 12:14 PM.
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,895
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Oh and don't forget to have a poke around the Hobbes archive http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/ You might find some useful software.
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Will do. I think its warp ver. 3. For some reason my virge isn't displaying but I think its the card sine no post or anything. Wierd thing is the monitor comes on like its getting a good signal. Its ok though cause I already have 3 virge/trio based vintage setups so maybe I'll keep an eye out for something diffrent.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,895
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    On my v4 setup I used the Scitech display driver. Details about in http://www.os2.org.nz/topics/scitechdisplaydriver.htm and it's downloadle from Hobbes.

    If v3 is updated to Fix Pack 35 it's possible to use it as well by the looks. A number of video chip sets and saves having to hunt around for separate video drivers and an also make moving the hdd from one system to another more bearable.
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I was wrong its v.4 how do the fixpaks work? Do I need to install them one by one or can I just grab the latest?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,895
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Install the device driver update then just grab the latest FP. http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/h-browse.php?...fixpack/warp_4

    Useful link http://asavage.dyndns.org/OS2/Warp4I...p4Install.html
    Some links may be broken but this page might be useful as well http://www.elstel.org/OS2Warp/InstallUpdate.html
    Last edited by Caluser2000; September 29th, 2013 at 08:14 PM.
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    948
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    ok well, this whole project is turning into a headache. that's what I hate about computers, you look at them sideways sometimes and they just start acting weird or not work at all.

    anyways on this one it has a AT PSU and the power switch was kind of sticking and want connected securely. so I unplug it take it apart and fasten it all securely, put it back together and...now it won't post.

    it powers up and the cpu and case fan start but I get nothing. the power LED and HDD light come on as solid so i know its not just the video. no beep codes either. I didn't do anything except secure the power switch better. anyways i tried different video cards, tried reseating the RAM, connected up a completely different PSU thinking maybe something on the switch was knocked out of place or something but same effect. any ideas? everything seems secure as it was before

    *NVM, figured it out. the case was pressing down continuously on the reset button.
    Last edited by oblivion; October 1st, 2013 at 03:55 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •