Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Requiring some Network help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Behind the keyboard
    Posts
    259

    Default Requiring some Network help

    Hello Folks I am back again.

    I have a question pertaining to the later DOS versions, my trust AMD 386.
    And how to Connect to a switch using the 3com Etherlink III ISA card.
    And Bridging that connection by a null modem cable to my amiga.

    What I want to achive by doing this is transfering files to/from my newer systems to my amiga.

    Any advice guys?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,100
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    What model is the Amiga for starters?
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Behind the keyboard
    Posts
    259

    Default

    An A3000D but that end i do not need help with, it is bridging software which I Go mind blank on.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,650
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Depends on what you're trying to bridge to.
    The 3Com will negotiate with the switch as soon as power is applied. It's a case of installing software to communicate with something else on that switch.
    If it doesn't, you will need Disk 2 of the 3Com Etherdisk - run 3c5x9cfg.exe to set the card up.

    If you're going DOS to DOS - I like NWLite
    If you're going to Windows XP/7/8 - easiest is probably setting up an FTP server, and using mTCP to connect to it
    If you're going to Windows 95/98 - try Microsoft LanManager - it'll let you connect to a Windows fileshare

    Alternatively, Windows for Workgroups 3.11 with the TCP/IP addon - will let you run an FTP app if required, and should be able to see a Windows 95/98 file share. I prefer this over LanMan on any 386 with 4Mb or more.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crypticalcode0 View Post
    And how to Connect to a switch using the 3com Etherlink III ISA card.
    Just to clarify, you don't connect to a switch, you connect through a switch. It's just a distribution device like a hub (except better).
    WANTED: Cardinal 2450MNP modem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Behind the keyboard
    Posts
    259

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ole Juul View Post
    Just to clarify, you don't connect to a switch, you connect through a switch. It's just a distribution device like a hub (except better).
    your correct.

    The goal is to have the 386 emulate a modem for the Amiga.
    My Network is kinda a miss matched heap of systems running an mix of DOS, 98SE, win7 and linux.
    I wish to add AOS to that fray.

    And I hope to use my DOS system as the bridge because I do not have the resources to affort an Zorro Network card or bridge board.
    So i am kinda looking at a 95 poor man's solution here.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Washington U.S.
    Posts
    460

    Default

    I don't know anything about IP forwarding in DOS, but if you booted a small linux distro on the 386, it would be be more than powerful enough to forward a SLIP connection

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,100
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Why not just use the existing linux box if it has a serial port?
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Behind the keyboard
    Posts
    259

    Default

    I know how to do that.
    I want to know how to do it with DOS.

    why?
    Because if your only tool is a hammer everything starts to look like nails.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crypticalcode0 View Post
    I know how to do that.
    I want to know how to do it with DOS.

    why?
    Because if your only tool is a hammer everything starts to look like nails.
    If you are serious about that ...

    https://code.google.com/p/mtcp/wiki/Programming_Sample

    That is a link to the mTCP Wiki. There is a sample program there that shows you how to write a simple program using TCP/IP sockets.

    mTCP will not serve as a TCP/IP router or gateway for you. But you could easily modify that program to send and receive packets on the network and then transfer them to the Amiga on the serial port. Unlike the Lantronix gadgets, you could choose to send data to the Amiga in more complex ways than just one byte at a time from the TCP/IP stream. UDP would also be available to you.



    Mike

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •