Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Atari 400: Stock psu is 3A... is 1A psu ok?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    east of Newark, Oh i;m luvit
    Posts
    487
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Atari 400: Stock psu is 3A... is 1A psu ok?

    I got an Atari 400 without a power brick.
    I'll pay an arm and a leg after shipping, but I found a 1A brick..
    I know stock is 3A and I've read another guy using 2.5A..
    If I recall from previous experiences, an under powered brick (amperage) will damage the device it's trying to power..

  2. #2

    Default

    Atari shipped the 400 with several different power supplies over its production run, the smallest being 9 VAC @ 1.7 amps (15.3 VA).

    A 1-amp supply will probably work fine. Just feel it every once in a while to make sure it's not running too hot.

    From the Atari 8-bit FAQ:

    Code:
    N O R T H  A M E R I C A   INPUT = 115-120 V AC, 50/60Hz
    ========================
    AC supplies (external transformers)
      9 V AC  5.4 VA  (600 mA)  Atari#CO62195/CO17539
        1030
    
      9 V AC  4.5 VA  (500 mA)  Atari#CO61516
        1010
    
      9 V AC  15.3 VA  (1.7 A)  Atari#CO14319
        400,800,822,850,1010,1200XL
    
      9 V AC  18 VA  (2.0 A)  Atari#CA014748/CA016804
        400,800,822,850,1010,1200XL,810
    
      9 V AC  31 VA  (3.4 A)  Atari#CO17945
        400,800,822,850,1010,1200XL,810,1020,1050,XF551
    
      9 V AC  50 VA  (5.6 A)  Atari#CA017964
        400,800,822,850,1010,1200XL,810,1020,1050,XF551

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    east of Newark, Oh i;m luvit
    Posts
    487
    Blog Entries
    4

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Hi Luvit. Listen, do be careful with it as it can indeed stress the computer if it can't draw enough power. Look for overheating with the computer as well as the power brick, or if the 400 has trouble initializing. I see a number of suitable Atari bricks on eBay for less than $20 shipped. I would be very tempted to snag one of them since they are easier to find than a 400.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    east of Newark, Oh i;m luvit
    Posts
    487
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Yeah.. I'm nervous about it.
    I'll wait until I come across an appropriate AC adapter.
    I don't have a thing for 400, so I'm not in a rush, yet.. and I'll save $20 if my luck is good. (:
    I don't want to spend$20 and find the system is dead.. that would be Murphy's law.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Västerås, Sweden
    Posts
    6,277

    Default

    Are you raiding your local thrift and goodwill stores regularly? I've grabbed quite a few working power adapters from those, of course not original brand but 9V is 9V no matter the manufacturer. For that matter, I've read the 1.7A one was considered just barely adequate, at least for the 800 model, so it probably is wise to look for something beefier.
    Anders Carlsson

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Keansburg, New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    911

    Default

    A 1A supply might power the unit fine, but things like the tape player and other peripherals draw power from the computer. You might not have enough power to add things to the computer with a smaller supply. Best to get the right one.
    -----[ Al ]-----

    3 - TRS-80 Model I, TRS-80 Model 4D, LNW-80 Model I, Coco, 3 - Coco 2, Coco 3, 2 - Tano Dragon 64, C64, C64c, C128, 2 - Atari 800XL,
    Atari 520-ST, Atari Mega-2 ST, Amiga 1000, TS-1000, TS-2068, ZX-Spectrum, IBM 5150, 2 - Apple ][gs, Laser 128, and a butt load of Macs and Intel PCs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,876

    Default

    Atari 8-bit disk drives require their own power adapter.
    My Retro Computing and Vintage Gaming Blog : http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Keansburg, New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    911

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Great Hierophant View Post
    Atari 8-bit disk drives require their own power adapter.
    Did I mention a disk drive? I mentioned the tape drive.
    -----[ Al ]-----

    3 - TRS-80 Model I, TRS-80 Model 4D, LNW-80 Model I, Coco, 3 - Coco 2, Coco 3, 2 - Tano Dragon 64, C64, C64c, C128, 2 - Atari 800XL,
    Atari 520-ST, Atari Mega-2 ST, Amiga 1000, TS-1000, TS-2068, ZX-Spectrum, IBM 5150, 2 - Apple ][gs, Laser 128, and a butt load of Macs and Intel PCs.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    east of Newark, Oh i;m luvit
    Posts
    487
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carlsson View Post
    Are you raiding your local thrift and goodwill stores regularly? I've grabbed quite a few working power adapters from those, of course not original brand but 9V is 9V no matter the manufacturer. For that matter, I've read the 1.7A one was considered just barely adequate, at least for the 800 model, so it probably is wise to look for something beefier.
    yessir.. i pass 3 everyday.. always walking out with the weird doodads. I usually pickup any AC adapter that reaches 1A with a standard voltage.. however that's the beefiest they ever seem to have..
    like i said.. if I can stumble upon one for cheap, i'll hang-in there. -- thanks for the info on 1.7A (:

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •