Image Map Image Map
Page 18 of 18 FirstFirst ... 81415161718
Results 171 to 177 of 177

Thread: Lanier Model 103 "No Problem" word processor

  1. #171
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Larose, LA, USA
    Posts
    339

    Default

    I put a handful of self-powered, self-referenced volt meters on order. They're coming in from China so no clue when they'll actually arrive but it'll give me a good opportunity to monitor the power rails all at the same time when the machine is running.

    Phil

  2. #172
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Larose, LA, USA
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Just placed an order for 2 8080A processors from Jameco. I have a feeling, looking at the datasheet, that the -12 (and subsequently -5) rails being inop will have toasted the current one.

    --Phil

  3. #173
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Larose, LA, USA
    Posts
    339

    Default

    20171211_165234.jpg

    Well, that didn't change the behavior much at all.

    Next up, pulling the backplane out and having the boards out on the desk so I can actually get probe clips on the thing.

    Phil

  4. #174
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Larose, LA, USA
    Posts
    339

    Default

    20171227_191951.jpg

    Built a voltmeter panel. Powered up, everything coming from the PSU is stable and within tolerance. Still the same crackling beep for about 30 seconds, then it goes silent. Didn't run it much more than that to see if it changed as it warmed up, will do that tonight and have a poke about on the video and CPU boards for everything looking correct. Next task then will probably be to pull the backplane out and sit it on the table so I can clip to it with the logic analyzer.


    --Phil

  5. #175

    Default

    I worked for Lanier for years repairing these in the field. They do NOT run CP/M, but a proprietary OS. I used to have some disks for them, but I haven't seen them for years. Probably tossed them at some point.

    John

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilipA View Post
    20171227_191951.jpg

    Built a voltmeter panel. Powered up, everything coming from the PSU is stable and within tolerance. Still the same crackling beep for about 30 seconds, then it goes silent. Didn't run it much more than that to see if it changed as it warmed up, will do that tonight and have a poke about on the video and CPU boards for everything looking correct. Next task then will probably be to pull the backplane out and sit it on the table so I can clip to it with the logic analyzer.


    --Phil

  6. #176
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Larose, LA, USA
    Posts
    339

    Default

    If you do ever come across them, let me know!

    I've had to pack the Lanier back in the cupboard for the moment (prep for visitors) but it'll be back out after because I want to find out why the beep tone when it's powered up warbles so badly. If you power one up sans diskettes, what would it do? Beep? Mine doesn't produce a steady tone, rather a crackling modulated beep, which sounds plain wrong...

    Thanks


    --Phil

  7. #177
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    26,042
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Lanier did offer a CP/M (just check the trade rags) option for the 103, but that wasn't the standard software. There was a sort of data migration program available between the two OSs as the file system organization was miles apart.

    Many vendors added the option to improve sales, but it wasn't the prime driver.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •