Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: IBM 5151 Monitor, bright spot when turning off

Default IBM 5151 Monitor, bright spot when turning off

Last week i picked up an IBM 5151 together with a clone XT computer. I'm new to pre-386 computers and their accessories and didnt used a 5151 monitor till now.

Monitor is functioning without problem, image is clear and crisp, but when i turned off the computer, monitor turns off with a very bright spot around the middle part of the screen. Is it normal for these monitors or something needs repair? (aged capacitors in monitor, or something bad on clone MDA card maybe?) In color monitors there is a circuit which turns the electron guns off just before turning the deflection off during power loss to prevent phosphor burn caused by bright spot at the middle of the screen, but i have no idea such a measure is built on these monitors too. Before starting to troubleshooting, i wanted to ask.

I recorded a video, http://vid1376.photobucket.com/album...ps3gfn7lmu.mp4

Older TVs do this, too.
    ☀☀☀ Visit Take Another Step for both computer and non-computer related discussions. ☀☀☀

If you're looking for DS/DD or DS/HD 3" or 5" floppy disks, PM me. I've got some new, used, and factory over-labeled disks for sale.

There is a crack in everything. That's how the light gets in. -- Leonard Cohen

My 5151 has always exhibited this same behaviour since I obtained it, and I've had it for 15+ years.

If you have the 5151 power cord plugged into the rear of the 5150 power supply.......turning off the 5150 power switch turns
    off the 5150 and 5151 at the same time. Have you tried just unplugging the 5151 power cord to see if the symptoms are the same ?
    Last edited by mikey99; January 17th, 2016 at 03:12 PM.