Image Map Image Map

Thread: IBM PS/2 Model 30 - 101 System Board Error message

Question IBM PS/2 Model 30 - 101 System Board Error message

Hi everyone! I'm really excited that tonight, years after I picked up this complete IBM PS/2 Model 30 off the curb, that I was able to at least get it to show something on the screen (before this it would do nothing except flash a small LED on the hard drive once.) I knew the PSU was fine, so I did some research and worked by process of elimination back until I found out this expansion card was preventing the computer from booting for some reason. Was great hearing this dinosaur roar back into life! Even if I just got an error message out of it haha

Anyhow I've came here to ask what exactly this message could mean, and how can I go about fixing it? I'm pretty new to vintage computing but pick them up whenever I find them, I hope I can find a old printer to go with this IBM and get it back into action!

Thanks everyone!
    I took these pics showing the error message, the expansion card I removed, and a aerial view of the board with the port where the card was removed outlined in pink.
    000_0021[1].jpg
    000_0023[1].jpg
    000_0024[1].jpg

Hey guys just an update, Turning the computer off then on again a few hours later (aka oldest trick in the disk) will make the computer load a prompt with 3 errors codes-

205-Memory Error
    161-Set Date and Time
    302-System Unit Keylock is Locked (How is that an error....Unless this controls the computer instead of locking the case as a safety mechanism like i originally thought....Hang on I got some investigating to do! )

OK I checked that, Key lock has no effect on the computer, will still give the system board error. I'll try again in a few hours and see what happens.