Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: What diskettes will work with 1541 diskette drive for C64?

Default What diskettes will work with 1541 diskette drive for C64?

Hi Folks,

Quick question for those that know. I'm new to the C64 but have been playing for it for a few hours. I'm kind of getting the commands down now for the 1541 diskette drive. I saw in some documentation that the 1541 takes single sided, single density diskettes. Is that absolute or can it take single sided, double density under certain conditions.... what about double sided, double density?

The reason I'm asking is that I don't have any single-sided, single density diskettes so have been trying other diskettes that I have including sd, ds and dd, ds diskettes. I didn't really expect them to work and so far they haven't. What does happen is the drive appears to be trying to format the diskette then after about 4 'normal' head clicks gives a loud bbbrrrrrrr and then stops with the red light flashing. I'm going to assume a flashing red light is bad news.

Anyway, I have a line on a few ss, sd diskettes so when they get here, I guess I'll be able to test it out.

Thanks folks,

Ed.....

Hi, Ed. The 1541 is pretty versatile. It can use SSDD, DSDD, DSQD (Quad Density).

It sounds like you're getting error 74 (Drive Not Ready).

Once you get the red blinking error light, you can type in this little program, and it will tell you what's wrong. (you have to type it in - if you try to load it in from a disk, you'll clear the drive's error channel, and then you will get 0,OK,0,0)

10 open 15,8,15
    20 input# 15,a,b$,c,d
    30 print "error number: ";a
    40 print "error name: ";b$
    50 print "on track: ";c
    60 print "sector: ";d
    70 close 15

I'm guessing (and this is only a guess!) the problem is that the media you're using had dropped some oxide on your read/write head of your floppy drive, making it too "dirty" to work with disks.