Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Macintosh II compatible monitor

  1. #1

    Default Macintosh II compatible monitor

    I scrounged up a couple of Macintoshes that were sitting in the rain. One of them is a Macintosh II. After a cleanup, I was able to jumpstart it with a 3v supply. However, I cannot get any video because I don't have the monitor for it. I have one of those VGA adapters with the dip switches, but I don't get anything with it.

    What kind of monitors should I be looking for that will work with the Mac II?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    753

    Default

    A standard VGA monitor with an adapter should work fine with a Mac II. I'm not sure what you mean by "jumpstarting with 3v supply" because the Mac II requires several different voltages that are not 3v.

    Also, if the machines were rained on, the motherboard and power supply internals should be carefully inspected for corrosion or dead components like capacitors before powering on.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    6,330
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    What video card is installed? A Mac II (not IIx or IIfx) is pretty old so the video card will probably not do anything more then VGA (640x480). Set you video adapter to that resolution.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,340
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I have a Mac II as well and I also cannot get it to display anything on any of my VGA monitors. So please let me know what you work out on this.

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,223

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
    What video card is installed? A Mac II (not IIx or IIfx) is pretty old so the video card will probably not do anything more then VGA (640x480).
    The original TFB video card doesn't support VGA sync rates. You'll need an 8•24 card or some third-party cards for that.
    Last edited by Al Kossow; April 18th, 2017 at 03:07 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    6,330
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    http://lowendmac.com/1987/macintosh-ii-video-card/

    "The Macintosh II Video Card is unaccelerated. With an optional RAM upgrade that requires eight 120ns DIP chips, it supports 640 x 480 in 8-bit color. Without the RAM upgrade, it supports 640 x 480 in 4-bit color. It will not drive the Apple 12″ RGB Display or 12″ Monochrome Display, which only operate at 512 x 384 resolution. It only supports 640 x 480 output."

    http://lowendmac.com/1989/macintosh-...on-video-card/

    "The Mac II High Res Video Card is unaccelerated. It supports resolutions of 640 x 480 and 512 x 384, which was the resolution of Apple’s 12″ color and monochrome displays. The video card was available in two configurations. The 4-bit model supports 16 color (4-bit) video on a 640 x 480 display, 256 colors (8-bit video) on a 512 x 384 display. The 8-bit model supports 8-bit/256-color video on a 640 x 480 display.

    With an optional RAM upgrade, which requires eight 120ns DIP chips, the 4-bit version supports 640 x 480 in 8-bit color."
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GiGaBiTe View Post
    I'm not sure what you mean by "jumpstarting with 3v supply" because the Mac II requires several different voltages that are not 3v.
    This is essentially how I got it to start up:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Mvn5z6AJK4

    Also, if the machines were rained on, the motherboard and power supply internals should be carefully inspected for corrosion or dead components like capacitors before powering on.
    I found them while it was raining, so I was able to take immediate measures to rescue them. The boards have been cleaned and there is absolutely no corrosion on them.

    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
    What video card is installed? A Mac II (not IIx or IIfx) is pretty old so the video card will probably not do anything more then VGA (640x480). Set you video adapter to that resolution.
    Here's some info I found on it. Perhaps changing the video card my help my case:

    Mac II Video Card 820-0198-C
    The Macintosh II Video Card, sometimes called "Toby," is a 12" NuBus card compatible with 68K-based Macs running up to Mac OS 7.6.1. It is not compatible with the Centris/Quadra 660AV and only partially compatible with the Quadra 840AV.

    The video card is the Apple Macintosh II Video Card (part nr. 820-0198-C), with a fixed resolution of 640480 and upgraded video RAM to display 256 colours instead of the 16 of the standard version. Most multisync monitors don’t pick up the signal of this board, so if you get a Macintosh II that seems to start up but has no video, maybe the monitor doesn’t fit.

  8. #8

    Default

    I've sold a macIIsi to a person here in Moscow, who made it to work with a common VGA. He said he just googled the solution. He sent the picture how it looks soldered)
    mac_IIfix.jpg

    mac_screen.jpg
    Last edited by Sandisk78; April 21st, 2017 at 06:36 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,223

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sandisk78 View Post
    made it to work with a common VGA.
    It is NOT a "common VGA"

    the syncmaster can handle 75hz refresh

    https://www.cnet.com/products/samsun...ter-152/specs/

    Let me repeat this again. ORIGINAL MAC II VIDEO SYNC RATES ARE NOT IBM VGA COMPATIBLE

    Here are the gory details of Mac video rates in some memos that Dale Adams wrote
    http://www.ralentz.com/old/mac/hardw...s/home-da.html

  10. #10

    Default

    I plan to sell a Mac II monitor in the near future, just have to test it first, also i may have a nubus video card if it's needed. Also people on 68kmla have video cards they may be willing to part with.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •