Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How can you get files onto a system that you don't have a disk drive for?

  1. #1

    Default How can you get files onto a system that you don't have a disk drive for?

    I ordered a compaq portable from eBay and it has a pair of 5.25" floppy drives and will come with a 2.11 dos diskette. I also ordered a 10 pack of DSDD diskettes to use with it. How can I get files to this system since I don't have any other 5.25" drives? All I will have is that 2.11 dos diskette, I would think it might have gwbasic on it. Is there any small program or can you use debug to make a small program that will transfer a file from the serial port to a file on disk? Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,055
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    I have used a ".boo" encoded stripped down Kermit. The file is a simple ASCII encoded copy of the KERMIT.EXE file that can be copied down the serial port, along with a short basic program to decode it back to binary.

    http://www.columbia.edu/kermit/archive.html#boofile
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    30,694
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    You can also hook a 3.5" drive (720K capable) to your Compaq in place of one of the 5.25" drives.

  4. #4

    Default

    If you have another machine with either a serial or parallel port you might be able to use LapLink or something similar.
    PM me if you're looking for 3" or 5" floppy disks. EMail For everything else, Take Another Step

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,705
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stone View Post
    If you have another machine with either a serial or parallel port you might be able to use LapLink or something similar.
    How would one do this? That is to say, how would one get the laplink software (or similar) onto the source computer?

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lutiana View Post
    How would one do this? That is to say, how would one get the laplink software... onto the source computer?
    Laplink can be installed onto a remote computer via a serial cable connection.
    PM me if you're looking for 3" or 5" floppy disks. EMail For everything else, Take Another Step

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    4,178
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Laplink might be a little large for a Compaq Portable. The install instructions for serial port transfer claim the process requires 300 kB of free space. http://kb.laplink.com/index.php/article/printer/716

    Not a lot room left to store files after that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Toronto ON Canada
    Posts
    7,094

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krebizfan View Post
    Laplink might be a little large for a Compaq Portable. The install instructions for serial port transfer claim the process requires 300 kB of free space. http://kb.laplink.com/index.php/article/printer/716

    Not a lot room left to store files after that.
    Replace the disk; besides, there are two drives.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krebizfan View Post
    Laplink might be a little large for a Compaq Portable. The install instructions for serial port transfer claim the process requires 300 kB of free space. http://kb.laplink.com/index.php/article/printer/716

    Not a lot room left to store files after that.
    After you successfully get Laplink installed on the Compaq just create a Laplink disk with only the EXE file on it. You don't need the all the install junk after you have a working disk.

    Furthermore, I wouldn't use Laplink V. I'd use Laplink II or III.
    PM me if you're looking for 3" or 5" floppy disks. EMail For everything else, Take Another Step

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6,141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alank2 View Post
    Any ideas?
    Some at http://minuszerodegrees.net/transfer/transfer.htm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •