Image Map Image Map
Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 69

Thread: IBM PS/2 Model 80 (Type 8580-321)

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ardent-blue View Post
    Ha! Thanks! I will definitely do that.
    ***Join the IRC chat at #vc on irc.slashnet.org! Please use your forum username as your nickname.***

    Franken486 - Intel Overdrive DX4 100MHz, 64 GB RAM, 40 GB HDD (8 GB usable), DVD-ROM, 1.44 MB Floppy, Diamond Stealth III S530, Intel PRO 10/100, AWE 64, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11
    IBM Model 80 Type 8580-321 - 386DX 20MHz, 4 MB RAM onboard, 4 MB RAM via 80386 Enhanced Memory Expansion, 400 MB Type 0661 HDD, 1.44 MB Floppy, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    85

    Default

    So I got my hands on a LAN/A adapter (the "new" version) for this machine (thanks, lutiana!). However, I don't have a free slot for it. The two slots that are on the board that match this card are both used. One is used by the SCSI controller, and the other is used by the 80386 Memory Expansion card. Can I stick the LAN/A adapter in one of the other slots similarly to how you can stick some 16-bit ISA cards in 8-bit slots?

    Obviously I'd have to sacrifice the memory expansion card as sacrificing the SCSI adapter is not an option. I really don't want to do that if I can avoid it, though.
    ***Join the IRC chat at #vc on irc.slashnet.org! Please use your forum username as your nickname.***

    Franken486 - Intel Overdrive DX4 100MHz, 64 GB RAM, 40 GB HDD (8 GB usable), DVD-ROM, 1.44 MB Floppy, Diamond Stealth III S530, Intel PRO 10/100, AWE 64, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11
    IBM Model 80 Type 8580-321 - 386DX 20MHz, 4 MB RAM onboard, 4 MB RAM via 80386 Enhanced Memory Expansion, 400 MB Type 0661 HDD, 1.44 MB Floppy, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11

  3. #33

    Default

    the MicroChannel spec is supposed to allow you to do this. If the card fits in the slot (even if the card has extra fingers that connect nowhere) then it should work, just without whatever feature the extra fingers provided (generally something like 32-bit transfers rather than 16-bit, or bus-master ability).

    this is not a guarantee that the drivers will still work properly, but it's at least worth a try.

    -ken

  4. #34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trmg View Post
    So I got my hands on a LAN/A adapter (the "new" version) for this machine (thanks, lutiana!). However, I don't have a free slot for it. The two slots that are on the board that match this card are both used. One is used by the SCSI controller, and the other is used by the 80386 Memory Expansion card. Can I stick the LAN/A adapter in one of the other slots similarly to how you can stick some 16-bit ISA cards in 8-bit slots?

    Obviously I'd have to sacrifice the memory expansion card as sacrificing the SCSI adapter is not an option. I really don't want to do that if I can avoid it, though.

    It is a bit confusing, the -321 and -121 both have three (3) 32 bit slots. Each of these 32 bit slots has the Matched Memory Extension on one end. Your 80386 Memory Expansion card will be happy in any of them.

    So... You have a late LAN/A http://ps-2.kev009.com/ohlandl/NIC/L...#LAN_Adapter/A in a 32 bit slot. The 80386 memory expansion in a 32 bit slot. One slot left, choose between SCSI or video.

    If it was me, my SCSI adapter goes in a 32 bit slot. The LAN/A will fit in a 16 or 32 bit slot. Never had to deal with a 32 bit NIC in a 16 bit slot.

    Your video card will go into a 16 bit slot, sorta confused, slot 6 is the AVE slot... The XGA and XGA-2 will work in a 16 bit slot, but possibly not in slot 6... The video will take longer in a 16 bit slot, but will still beat the planar VGA.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kgober View Post
    the MicroChannel spec is supposed to allow you to do this. If the card fits in the slot (even if the card has extra fingers that connect nowhere) then it should work, just without whatever feature the extra fingers provided (generally something like 32-bit transfers rather than 16-bit, or bus-master ability).

    this is not a guarantee that the drivers will still work properly, but it's at least worth a try.

    -ken
    Thanks. I figured I'd ask before I go experimenting and accidentally blow something up.


    Quote Originally Posted by ardent-blue View Post
    It is a bit confusing, the -321 and -121 both have three (3) 32 bit slots. Each of these 32 bit slots has the Matched Memory Extension on one end. Your 80386 Memory Expansion card will be happy in any of them.

    So... You have a late LAN/A http://ps-2.kev009.com/ohlandl/NIC/L...#LAN_Adapter/A in a 32 bit slot. The 80386 memory expansion in a 32 bit slot. One slot left, choose between SCSI or video.

    If it was me, my SCSI adapter goes in a 32 bit slot. The LAN/A will fit in a 16 or 32 bit slot. Never had to deal with a 32 bit NIC in a 16 bit slot.

    Your video card will go into a 16 bit slot, sorta confused, slot 6 is the AVE slot... The XGA and XGA-2 will work in a 16 bit slot, but possibly not in slot 6... The video will take longer in a 16 bit slot, but will still beat the planar VGA.

    Oh heyyy. I totally did not notice that slot 1 is 32 bit. I guess this is a non-issue for now. I do not have an XGA/XGA-2 card...would LOVE to get my hands on one some day (after I get a reliable hard disk setup in this thing). The planar VGA leaves much to be desired.

    Thanks!
    ***Join the IRC chat at #vc on irc.slashnet.org! Please use your forum username as your nickname.***

    Franken486 - Intel Overdrive DX4 100MHz, 64 GB RAM, 40 GB HDD (8 GB usable), DVD-ROM, 1.44 MB Floppy, Diamond Stealth III S530, Intel PRO 10/100, AWE 64, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11
    IBM Model 80 Type 8580-321 - 386DX 20MHz, 4 MB RAM onboard, 4 MB RAM via 80386 Enhanced Memory Expansion, 400 MB Type 0661 HDD, 1.44 MB Floppy, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    85

    Default

    So, I'm attempting to install the LAN/A card and the system is just not taking it. It will not recognize the ADF file. I ran MCA Identification 1.1 and it identifies the card in slot 1 with id FEE6 and as "unknown". As far as I know, the LAN/A card should ID as FFE0. I tried another slot (slot 2) and there was no change. I even tried re-naming the ADF to "@FEE6.ADF" and editing the file so that the "AdapterId" reflected 0FEE6h with no luck either (though this was a long shot).

    Any ideas?

    Here is a snapshot of the MCA ID:

    mcaid.jpg

    Here is the card as a sanity check.

    lana.jpg
    ***Join the IRC chat at #vc on irc.slashnet.org! Please use your forum username as your nickname.***

    Franken486 - Intel Overdrive DX4 100MHz, 64 GB RAM, 40 GB HDD (8 GB usable), DVD-ROM, 1.44 MB Floppy, Diamond Stealth III S530, Intel PRO 10/100, AWE 64, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11
    IBM Model 80 Type 8580-321 - 386DX 20MHz, 4 MB RAM onboard, 4 MB RAM via 80386 Enhanced Memory Expansion, 400 MB Type 0661 HDD, 1.44 MB Floppy, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11

  7. #37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trmg View Post
    So, I'm attempting to install the LAN/A card and the system is just not taking it.
    http://ps-2.kev009.com/ohlandl/confi....html#Copy_ADF

    How did you copy the ADF to the options disk? You >MUST< obey the machine... Even I, god Emperor of Microchannel, must obey the machine....

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,333
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ardent-blue View Post
    http://ps-2.kev009.com/ohlandl/confi....html#Copy_ADF

    How did you copy the ADF to the options disk? You >MUST< obey the machine... Even I, god Emperor of Microchannel, must obey the machine....
    Odd, on mine I just copied the ADF to the setup disk and it worked just fine.

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ardent-blue View Post
    http://ps-2.kev009.com/ohlandl/confi....html#Copy_ADF

    How did you copy the ADF to the options disk? You >MUST< obey the machine... Even I, god Emperor of Microchannel, must obey the machine....
    Well, first I tried restoring the LAN/A Option Disk v2.2 image to floppy and then when it would prompt me for the description file I would put the disk in.

    Then I tried restoring the LAN/A Option Disk v1.0 to floppy and doing the same.

    Then I tried putting the ADF on a blank floppy.

    Then I tried renaming the ADF and the AdapterId within the ADF to match what the MCA ID program was returning.

    I will give the method you share a shot.
    ***Join the IRC chat at #vc on irc.slashnet.org! Please use your forum username as your nickname.***

    Franken486 - Intel Overdrive DX4 100MHz, 64 GB RAM, 40 GB HDD (8 GB usable), DVD-ROM, 1.44 MB Floppy, Diamond Stealth III S530, Intel PRO 10/100, AWE 64, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11
    IBM Model 80 Type 8580-321 - 386DX 20MHz, 4 MB RAM onboard, 4 MB RAM via 80386 Enhanced Memory Expansion, 400 MB Type 0661 HDD, 1.44 MB Floppy, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    85

    Default

    The LAN/A Option Disk v2.2 image is a DSK file. Do I need anything special to write this to floppy? I typically use dd on my Fedora box (dd if=ETMLAN.DSK of=/dev/sdg). However when I mount the image as well as when it restores to floppy, there is an odd file and an odd folder at the root of the disk (or image).
    Selection_037.jpg
    ***Join the IRC chat at #vc on irc.slashnet.org! Please use your forum username as your nickname.***

    Franken486 - Intel Overdrive DX4 100MHz, 64 GB RAM, 40 GB HDD (8 GB usable), DVD-ROM, 1.44 MB Floppy, Diamond Stealth III S530, Intel PRO 10/100, AWE 64, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11
    IBM Model 80 Type 8580-321 - 386DX 20MHz, 4 MB RAM onboard, 4 MB RAM via 80386 Enhanced Memory Expansion, 400 MB Type 0661 HDD, 1.44 MB Floppy, Running MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •