Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Xenix 286 File Transfer via Parallel port? Help??!!

Blog Entries

Default Xenix 286 File Transfer via Parallel port? Help??!!

This is my first experience with UNIX. If you like you can read my post HERE about my computer with SCO XENIX 286. It's been a lot of fun learning about this great old OS, but I'm not a programmer, (yet), and I'm having a hard time finding Apps and Utilities for it. Right now I'm trying to find a good way to transfer files to and from the hard drive. Evidently, XENIX 286 was not Ethernet friendly, so I've been looking for alternatives. I found an old version of C-KERMIT that works but it only works with a serial connection and I can't get it to go any faster that 9600 baud with a null modem cable to a DOS machine running MS-DOS-KERMIT. At that speed file transfers take a long time. Can someone here help me find a utility that will work over a Parallel connection? I could even install Linux on my 486 as a go between if making a UNIX program talk to a DOS machine is to difficult. Are there any Programmers here interested in writing a program for this or modifying KERMIT to do parallel? The source code for KERMIT is readily available but only the oldest versions will compile correctly on my XT/286 aka IBM 5162.

What are you trying to transfer that is taking so long?
    Here's some info for you: http://news-posts.aplawrence.com/2660.html

I think the skunkware iso might have rz/sz for xenix if you have a cd drive.
    http://www.sco.com/skunkware/

If you could only run a DOS program it would be simple.
    If you're looking for DS/DD or DS/HD 3" or 5" floppy disks, PM me. I've got some new, used, and factory over-labeled disks for sale.

There is a crack in everything. That's how the light gets in. -- Leonard Cohen
    ☞ Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.

Blog Entries