Image Map Image Map
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: Strange behaviour of a 5151 Monitor.

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    572

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck(G) View Post
    Wouldn't it have been easier to use a step-down transformer?
    I have two 5150s. One with a 120 Vac input. The 5151 is also 120 Vac input powered via the pass through on the 5150. I use the step down transformer for this setup.

    I hope to sell the 5150 and use the monitor with the other 5150 which is 220 Vac input. So I decided to use paul's adaption to the 5151. Does that make sense?


    EDIT: I've already fried one PSU 120 Vac by forgetting and then plugging in to the mains 220 Vac.

    Whilst I'm on, what colours are used for mains AC cable in America, Live/Line/Phase, Neutral, Ground/Earth?
    Last edited by fjk61011; May 19th, 2017 at 09:38 AM.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    I guess it does.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    572

    Default

    Getting the cover off was a challenge until I discovered the sneaky little trap doors covering the screws.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Toronto ON Canada
    Posts
    6,596

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fjk61011 View Post
    Whilst I'm on, what colours are used for mains AC cable in America, Live/Line/Phase, Neutral, Ground/Earth?
    http://www.regiscoyne.com/tech/pwrcordcc/

    Also, cords for 120V generally use a thicker gauge because the current is double for the same power (wattage).

  5. #25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fjk61011 View Post
    Getting the cover off was a challenge until I discovered the sneaky little trap doors covering the screws.
    Looks like you're on track with the conversion despite some variations with the parts.

    If you broke the tabs off those little screw covers you could superglue on the cover underside some tiny magnets as found in CD drive laser focus actuators.

    P1010874.jpg

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    572

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paul View Post
    Looks like you're on track with the conversion despite some variations with the parts.

    If you broke the tabs off those little screw covers you could superglue on the cover underside some tiny magnets as found in CD drive laser focus actuators.

    P1010874.jpg
    I don't think I broke them.

    What gauge/CSA wire should I use from the PSU to the PCB?

  7. #27

    Default

    It's just under 1 amp. Roughly about twice the diameter of the mains wires.

    IMG_4629.JPG

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    572

    Default

    My new PSU arrived - on a Saturday. And a new soldering iron.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    572

    Default

    Followed paul's instructions. Hardest part was my soldering. Checked everything, powered up my 220 Vac 5150. No blinking cursor. Oh no.

    Then I remembered that I hadn't set the dip switches for MDA. Changed them to off. Switched on, blinking cursor. Boots DOS.

    Treats my self to a McFlurrie. Whoop.

  10. #30

    Default

    Well done!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •