Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Leading Edge DC-2014 Keyboard

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,327
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Leading Edge DC-2014 Keyboard

    I want to clean my DC-2014 keyboard before possibly selling it along with my Model D DC-2011 Computer and DR-1240 Monitor.

    What is the process to remove the keys and take the keyboard apart to clean it? I want to get photos of the blue alps switches as well for selling purposes.

    Any help is greatly appreciated...
    "In Life, The Days Are Long But The Years Are Short..."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    6,425
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I don't know the correct method of opening a DC-2014, but you certainly don't need pictures of the blue Alps switches for selling purposes because most people who buy the DC-2014 these days already know what's inside and just want to harvest the switches out of it. If you really want to take pictures of the switches, the keycaps are removable without having to disassemble the entire thing.

    I'm hoping you're selling all three pieces as a single lot, because it looks great with all stock pieces, and might dissuade "keyboard collectors" from breaking up the set.

    I might be bitter; I had a Leading Edge Model D system unit and monitor for years without a keyboard because of keyboard collectors. I had to resort to buying an entire lot (much like what you're selling) to get the DC-2014 to complete my set.
    Offering a bounty for:
    - A working Sanyo MBC-775, Olivetti M24, or Logabax 1600
    - Music Construction Set, IBM Music Feature edition (has red sticker on front stating IBM Music Feature)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central VA
    Posts
    4,797

    Default

    I didn't realize the keyboards were going so high until recently. They're a very nice keyboard, but a Model D just doesn't look right without the DC-2014 keyboard in front of it!

    I really hope they're not just stripping keyswitches to use, hopefully they're at least *using* the keyboard with a converter or something.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,327
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks for the info, I dont want to risk breaking a key, so I think I will leave it alone. I know it all works as I had it running again last night...

    There's a Hard Card in it as well, but I dont know the maker of it. The board that the drive is attached to has a label that says OMIT 5510 and the Drivers Disk I have says Express Systems Hard Disk Software, but I cant find much on either...

    I have two different Operations Manuals and 2 Sets of Diag Disk / DOS Disk (one is 2.11 and one is 3.1 for DOS).
    "In Life, The Days Are Long But The Years Are Short..."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central VA
    Posts
    4,797

    Default

    Any chance you can make images of the DOS 3.1 disks before you sell? If not, can you make copies? I'll pay for you to mail them to me, so I can make images available.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trixter View Post
    I don't know the correct method of opening a DC-2014, but you certainly don't need pictures of the blue Alps switches for selling purposes because most people who buy the DC-2014 these days already know what's inside and just want to harvest the switches out of it.
    One of these days, somebody is going to have to explain to me what all the fascination is with different colors of Alps switches.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,327
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glitch View Post
    Any chance you can make images of the DOS 3.1 disks before you sell? If not, can you make copies? I'll pay for you to mail them to me, so I can make images available.
    Sure, I can.....what is a good disk image writer for DOS 6.22 or Win 3.11 For Workgroups? I can make the image from there.
    "In Life, The Days Are Long But The Years Are Short..."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,145
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    DISKCOPY--> http://www.freewarereview.info/2006-...on_part_i.html

    As simple as “diskcopy a: filename.img”
    Last edited by Caluser2000; July 24th, 2017 at 04:38 PM.
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central VA
    Posts
    4,797

    Default

    Yeah, that'll work fine. I use `dd` under Linux, or ImageDisk under DOS most of the time (it does non-DOS formats). DISKCOPY will be fine for these, though!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,327
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Do you want the diag disk to from that set that came with the 3.1?

    I also have a disk with PC DOS 1.10 on it. Not sure if working or not, but didn't know if image was needed for that?
    "In Life, The Days Are Long But The Years Are Short..."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •