Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: KW-530 BIOSed Floppy controller.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,319
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default KW-530 BIOSed Floppy controller.

    So I have this card: http://th99.classic-computing.de/src/i/I-L/55275.htm and I have it set for drive A to be a 1.2/1.44Mb drive in a 8086/8088 machine and installed in an IBM 5150 (the 64-256kb version of the 5150), but I cannot get it to boot from a 1.44Mb DOS 6.22 disk. It does the drive seek, then goes to boot from the disk and just hangs there with the floppy light on. I have a second BIOSed floppy drive (a KW something else, cannot recall at the moment, but it is a different model) and that one does the same thing.

    Any suggestions on what it is I am doing wrong? Could it be a problem with the 5150 BIOS (not sure what revision is in the machine).

    My next step here is to try the cards in one of my 5160s and maybe one of the other 5150s I have. But I won't have time to do this till the weekend, so I figured I'd ask here in the mean time.

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    25,019
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    I wonder if the BIOS is being seen. Does it display any sort of identification on the boot screen?

    Have you tried booting from a 720K floppy?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,319
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck(G) View Post
    I wonder if the BIOS is being seen. Does it display any sort of identification on the boot screen?
    The second card I tried does display a BIOS message, the first does not. However I think the first did work in the 5160 when I tried it awhile back, but also did not display anything (I need to re-test this).

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck(G) View Post
    Have you tried booting from a 720K floppy?
    I have a 720kb boot disk sitting near the 1.44mb one, but I cannot for the life of me remember if I tried it. I'll give it a go tomorrow when I get home.

    I should also mention that I did try a different known good floppy drive. So I am sure it's not the drive.

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  4. #4

    Default

    The last Bios revision 10/27/82 for the 5150 added support for adapters with ROM BIOS extension, So you got the right bios if you see a bios message, If you can boot from a 720k DOS 6.22 floppy, Stick MSD on the floppy and run it, See what is listed for the floppy drive's, It probably see's them as 360k. Do you have a hard drive in the 5150 also ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,319
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Malc View Post
    The last Bios revision 10/27/82 for the 5150 added support for adapters with ROM BIOS extension, So you got the right bios if you see a bios message, If you can boot from a 720k DOS 6.22 floppy, Stick MSD on the floppy and run it, See what is listed for the floppy drive's, It probably see's them as 360k. Do you have a hard drive in the 5150 also ?
    I don't think the KW-530 has a BIOS message, I think it is just designed to do it's thing silently. No, there is no HDD in the 5150, but I will see if I can get it to boot off of something and tell me what the floppy specs are, and if it can read a 1.44Mb disk even if it can't boot from it.

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    5,461

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lutiana View Post
    Could it be a problem with the 5150 BIOS (not sure what revision is in the machine).
    Yes it could, as Malc wrote.
    First thing to do is verify that you have the 10/27/82 revision - see [here].

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,319
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by modem7 View Post
    Yes it could, as Malc wrote.
    First thing to do is verify that you have the 10/27/82 revision - see [here].
    Yes, the part number matches the latest BIOS chip listed there though it does look different from the one you have pctured on your site.

    Just out of curiosity, there are 5 ROM chips on this board, one is the main BIOS and I assume 2 are for BASIC, but what are the other 2 for? And given there is one free ROM socket, could I put floppy BIOS on a ROM chip in that socket and just use a non-biosed HD floppy controller?

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    5,461

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lutiana View Post
    Yes, the part number matches the latest BIOS chip listed there though it does look different from the one you have pctured on your site.
    During the supply lifetime of the 5150, IBM had different manufacturers make the ROMS. Some examples at [here].

    Quote Originally Posted by lutiana View Post
    Just out of curiosity, there are 5 ROM chips on this board, one is the main BIOS and I assume 2 are for BASIC, but what are the other 2 for?
    U33 = BIOS
    U29/U30/U31/U32 = Cassette BASIC

    That answer and much more is in the 5150 section of minuszerodegrees.net
    It would pay for you to take a read.

    Quote Originally Posted by lutiana View Post
    And given there is one free ROM socket, ...
    Yes, U28, per the diagram at [here].

    Quote Originally Posted by lutiana View Post
    ... could I put floppy BIOS on a ROM chip in that socket and just use a non-biosed HD floppy controller?
    1. Yes, if the BIOS supports being based at address F4000
    2. Note that the ROM sockets do not take 27xxx series EPROMs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,319
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by modem7 View Post
    During the supply lifetime of the 5150, IBM had different manufacturers make the ROMS. Some examples at [here].
    Mine are the ones on the bottom left of that image. Seem to be made by AMI.

    Quote Originally Posted by modem7 View Post

    U33 = BIOS
    U29/U30/U31/U32 = Cassette BASIC

    That answer and much more is in the 5150 section of minuszerodegrees.net
    It would pay for you to take a read.
    I have explored that section extensively and have read a fair bit of what is on there.

    Quote Originally Posted by modem7 View Post
    Yes, U28, per the diagram at [here].


    1. Yes, if the BIOS supports being based at address F4000
    2. Note that the ROM sockets do not take 27xxx series EPROMs.
    Yes, I saw that there is an adapter that can be purchased and/or fabricated for the use of 27xxx EPROMs, and good to know on that base address, does Sergey's floppy BIOS run at that base address?

    I am going to try and get to do some more testing tonight, I will try booting from the 720kb disk I have, and I will also try both floppy controllers in a 5160 as well as in another 5150 I have. Hopefully that will give me some further insight into this issue.

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lutiana View Post
    ....does Sergey's floppy BIOS run at that base address?....
    Probably be ok, the only thing is you will have to configure the bios to suit your floppy drive setup before you burn the eprom because obviously the floppy config utility won't work. I never tried using that U28 free socket in my 5150 but i have used U19 in my 5160 with the 11/08/82 Bios to home the XUB and Sergey's bios before and it worked.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •