Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kaypro 10 - as a reason to begin learning, not just "playing". From where to begin ?

Default Kaypro 10 - as a reason to begin learning, not just "playing". From where to begin ?

Hello, everebody ! I'm not a professional in computers. I just estetically respect these old machines - so I try to use, collect and save from being recycled/destroyed as I consider them to be some beautiful artefacts of the Past, masterpieces like 1916-28 airplanes or 1918-75 cars, which I would like to collect If I had enough money ) So, maybe it's a shame, but since I began to collect vintage computers in 2006, I mostly played games on them, or used Photoshop/Corel Draw on mid 1990's machines, but I didn't have clear understanding how do they work ... Recently I began to learn C on IBM-PC compatible systems... But now I want even more - try to understand everething about a computer, about it's structure and try to learn assembler. I thinks it's better to begin with the earliest machine in my collection - Kaypro 10. It seems really cool as an artefact of the Past and as a computer - really archaic and primitive, in the good meaning of that word - even an IBM 5150 with 640k of ram and a HDD seems a *multimidia monster* in comparison to this 8 bit machine. But I just wonder, what really it can do - can games for it can be written, maybe like the ones I've seen on the youtube on Tandy TRS80 series of computers. I want to try to *imagine* than I live in the first half of the 80's). Also I wonder about the nature of it's "graphical mode", which is mentioned on some sites in the Internet.