Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Tandy 2000 Monitor

Default Tandy 2000 Monitor

I'm a newbie when it comes to the Tandy 2000. I know that monitor options are limited. You can use the VM-1 for monochrome and the CM-1 for color. There are a few other multisync monitors that are capable of doing the job as well, but they are not easy to come by these days. The issue lies in the 2000's unusual horizontal sync freq of 26.4 kHz.

Here is an adapter I found on eBay which is supposed to handle the horizontal sync between 12 and 40 kHz. Anyone have an idea if this will work with the 2000?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-GBS-821...D/192326537600

Darn pski I just sold a NEC Multisync a few months back that I actually used with my 2K when I had it. Building a monochrome adapter cable is actually not that hard, Just need a DIN connector to 9 pin wired up. But you need a real 9 pin monochrome type display. No composite. The technical reference manual has pinouts for both types of monitors. Hope this helps some
    *FrankG*
    Just a few old dust collectors that work! Sort of! Or when they decide to!
    TRS-80 Model III , Pentium 233 "Tweener"

Yup... that NEC automatically scans all frequencies between 15.5 kHz and 35 kHz.
    If you're looking for DS/DD or DS/HD 3" or 5" floppy disks, PM me. I've got some new, used, and factory over-labeled disks for sale.

There is a crack in everything. That's how the light gets in. -- Leonard Cohen
    ☞ Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.

Per Tandy Faxback document #1944, the pinout of the monitor connects are:

Color monitor on the graphics board:

1 - Ground
    2 - Ground
    3 - Red
    4 - Green
    5 - Blue
    6 - Intensity
    7 - Not connected
    8 - Horizontal Sync
    9 - Vertical Sync

Monochrome - 8pin DIN:

1 - Not Connected
    2 - Ground
    3 - Intensity
    4 - Horizontal Sync
    5 - Vertical Sync
    6 - Not Connected
    7 - Video Signal
    8 - Not Connected