Image Map Image Map
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Got IBM 5251 display terminal

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA USA
    Posts
    2,481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Before gutting the thing and re-purposing it keep in mind that they go for quite a few dollars on ebay. I sold the one I had for nearly $600 and that was a steal compared to some I've seen sell on Ebay, heck someone offered me nearly $400 for just the keyboard.

    So even though you are in Uruguay you may actually find someone crazy enough to pay the freight to get it from you...

    IBM 5160 - 360k, 1.44Mb Floppies, NEC V20, 8087-3, 45MB MFM Hard Drive, Vega 7 Graphics, IBM 5154 Monitor running MS-DOS 5.00
    IBM PCJr Model 48360 640kb RAM, NEC V20,, jrIDE Side Cart, 360kb Floppy drives running MS-DOS 5.00
    Evergreen Am5x86-133 64Mb Ram, 8gb HDD, SB16 in a modified ATX case running IBM PC-DOS 7.10

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Posts
    259
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yes but MDA and CGA have diferent horiz freq cga is 15 khz and MDA 18khz if i remember correctly

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    27,059
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    My recollection is that it was pretty simple to re-tune the Fujitsu units upwards to make very decent monitors. Monochrome displays aren't rocket science.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Posts
    259
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Hooked horizontal vertical ground and video to a CGA card now the monitor sync start i can hear it.
    The flyback transformer get active i have a small neon bulb i use for testing it.
    But now picture in the tube none nada pure 100% black.
    Not sure what could cause this.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    27,059
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    It's not black when hooked to the terminal innards?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Posts
    259
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    When is hooked to the terminal innards the unit do nothing the monitor don't get even sync.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    27,059
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Sounds as if there's a more serious problem. Can you see the CRT heater glowing?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Posts
    259
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yes the heater glows, and the hv flyback is working but there 0 brightness in the tube never run on a monitor having this problem before.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    27,059
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Well, most of the old monochrome OEM monitors follow a standard design. Time to get the 'scope and DMM otu and run down where the thing is failing, perhaps.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    5,081
    Blog Entries
    41

    Default

    I am assuming you have tone the sanity check and verified the brightness and contrast are not turned all the way down.
    = Excellent space heater

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •