Image Map Image Map
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Need some extra brains on this one.

  1. #31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck(G) View Post
    Strange board, though. It has a single PS/2 socket, so you can hook up a PS/2 keyboard or mouse, but apparently not both.
    https://www.startech.com/Cables/Seri...Adapter~KYC1MF

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    27,379
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Doesn't matter--I used a $2 PS/2-to-USB adapter (PCPlay) with my Model M and Compaq mouse.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    6,700
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I was reading up on that board and the 5.0 revision can only run 95W CPUs without issue , high speed X4 AMD chips are 125W.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    27,379
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    I doubt that it would matter--I disabled all but a single core and slowed the CPU clock. I suppose I could try an X4 Athlon, (I've got one here somewhere) but I doubt that would make any difference.

    Maybe I'll give it a try later...

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    27,379
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Forgot to mention--even when it would boot, there was no sound output. ALSA said it was outputting sound, but dead silence from line-out. If I plugged in a PCIe video card, I could get sound from the HDMI output; similarly I could get sound via a PCI SBLive card. But nothing from the integrated audio. (Ubuntu 16.04).

    Edit I tried the board with Phenom II 820 and 840 chips as well--they're both 95W chips. Nothing doing.
    Last edited by Chuck(G); June 20th, 2018 at 01:08 PM.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    6,700
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I have had Linux screw up built in sound before even when it worked fine in windows. My AM3+ board works in 5.1 mode in Win7 but only stereo in W10 (and it has W10 drivers).
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    27,379
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    Nah, I even tried WinXP on this one. Nada--dead silence.

    Hey, it's a Tiger Direct board, what do you expect?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    6,700
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    It's not like Tiger Direct made them. It was a cheap board when new (2 DIMMs instead of 4). I like snagging gamer or workstation/server boards since they tend to be made better.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •