Image Map Image Map
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Restoring a Apple Lisa 2/10 Need some driection please

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    183

    Default

    anyone??
    Atari Falcon 030/FX-1 CF & SD 14mb, Atari MSTE, Atari PS3000, STACY 4 /w UltraSatan SD, 4160STE-CosmosEX, Atari PC1-PCH204-2xPCF-551-PCM124, 1040STFM, 1040STF, 520ST(4mb, 16mhz), 400-48K & std kybrd, 800, 600XL, 800XL, 1200XL(256 Rambo,svideo,31-OS,APE upgrade), 130XE, XEGS, matching peripherals for all,
    Apple llGS ROM 3-4mb-CF HD, C64, 4+, IBM XT 5160, IT 99/4+, TRS80-4P, Amiga 500,

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Northfield, MN USA
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KLund1 View Post
    Ok. I got the parts and replaced all the caps on the video card. Tested and working!
    But that still did not change the distorted display after load a disk shown in pic 3 of post 1. But the distortion is much clearer
    I swapped out the CPU card with one from Lisa #2. and the distortion went away, and I could read the message. It was saying something about the 'Disk' not initialized, and the 'Diskette' needs to be reinserted and the Apple key and 2 key need to be pressed after a 'click' if heard. Also the display is not as clear with this card. The right side black boarder is now white. All other Lisa card were not swapped. So it is the cpu Lisa #2 card that is causing this.
    So am I correct in thinking the the Eproms on Lisa #1 cpu card are bad? And the lisa #2 cpu card also issues?
    I have a eprom burner. Could I make new eproms? The eproms on the CPU #1 and #2 cards have different numbers on them.
    (CPU card from Lisa #3 dose not boot, bad traces from battery acid I guess)
    Lacking pictures, it sounds like you are using Macworks disks to try and boot the machine.

    I'm guessing the screen kit mod is in place, and the board where you are getting the messages about diskette issues has the correct video ROM to work with this. The other board does not have the video ROM, so you are getting the garbled display. I'm about 80% confident that the video ROM is on the CPU card, but could be wrong.

    This page

    http://lisafaq.sunder.net/lisafaq-hw-rom_versions.html

    Should help sort that out. If you can tell us what the CPU ROM is on the board you can see, that should help move the diagnosis along.

    The rest of the sunder.net Lisa FAQs should be helpful reading as well if you haven't seen them already.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    183

    Default

    Many thanks. That link very is helpful.
    Please see post #1 pic #3 for disk that I using. I have two copies of this disk.
    Lisa #1 CPU Roms are the 3A 341-0346A and 341-0347A, The I/O just has white label XL Apple computer Sun Remarketing. So this has a video mod
    Lisa #2 CPU shows REVG H 7D42 and REVG L DA33 on hand written labels. The I/O label is missing and I put a piece of tape over the eprom window. This is rare?
    Lisa #3 CPU shows 3C H 3119 and 3C L 7D49, I/O is an A8 341-0290B Lisa 2, 2/5
    I also got a couple extra MB too.
    Lisa #4MB is an A version 341-0175A and 341-0176A. This is rare?
    Lisa #5MB is the 3A 341-0346A and 341-0347A. The anti-static bag says 'no mod chip at C6' and there is a empty socket at 6309

    Attached are the pictures for 2 post ago.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,568

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KLund1 View Post
    Many thanks. That link very is helpful.
    Please see post #1 pic #3 for disk that I using. I have two copies of this disk.
    Lisa #1 CPU Roms are the 3A 341-0346A and 341-0347A, The I/O just has white label XL Apple computer Sun Remarketing. So this has a video mod
    Lisa #2 CPU shows REVG H 7D42 and REVG L DA33 on hand written labels. The I/O label is missing and I put a piece of tape over the eprom window. This is rare?
    Lisa #3 CPU shows 3C H 3119 and 3C L 7D49, I/O is an A8 341-0290B Lisa 2, 2/5
    I also got a couple extra MB too.
    Lisa #4MB is an A version 341-0175A and 341-0176A. This is rare?
    Lisa #5MB is the 3A 341-0346A and 341-0347A. The anti-static bag says 'no mod chip at C6' and there is a empty socket at 6309

    Attached are the pictures for 2 post ago.
    The next thing you need to do is inspect and lubricate the 400K disk drives.
    If they haven't been used, the auto-inject mechanisms are probably frozen.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,568

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KLund1 View Post
    Many thanks. That link very is helpful.
    Please see post #1 pic #3 for disk that I using. I have two copies of this disk.
    Lisa #1 CPU Roms are the 3A 341-0346A and 341-0347A, The I/O just has white label XL Apple computer Sun Remarketing. So this has a video mod
    Lisa #2 CPU shows REVG H 7D42 and REVG L DA33 on hand written labels. The I/O label is missing and I put a piece of tape over the eprom window. This is rare?
    Lisa #3 CPU shows 3C H 3119 and 3C L 7D49, I/O is an A8 341-0290B Lisa 2, 2/5
    I also got a couple extra MB too.
    Lisa #4MB is an A version 341-0175A and 341-0176A. This is rare?
    Lisa #5MB is the 3A 341-0346A and 341-0347A. The anti-static bag says 'no mod chip at C6' and there is a empty socket at 6309

    Attached are the pictures for 2 post ago.
    Known CPU board ROM versions:

    * 3A - indicates a screen modification kit has been installed for use with MacWorks.
    Also, the Lisa Video state ROM has been changed for the new video timing,
    and (usually) a transformer has been installed between the video board and the CRT.
    3A ROMs will not work with Lisa Office System, Workshop, Xenix, etc. Part Number: 341-0346A and 341-0347A
    * H - the latest ROM for Lisa Office System. Also compatible with MacWorks and Xenix. Part Number: 341-0175H and 341-0176H
    * G - Very Rare - development only? Part Number: 341-0175G and 341-0176G
    * F - Early Lisa 2 ROM for Lisa Office System. Also compatible with MacWorks and Xenix. 341-0175F and 341-0176F
    * E - Very rare - development only Part Number: 341-0175E and 341-0176E
    * D - somewhat common, might work with both 3.5" floppy as well as Twiggies Part Number: 341-0175D and 341-0176D
    * C - Lisa 1 ROM (rare) Part Number: 341-0175C and 341-0176C
    * B - Lisa 1 ROM (very rare) - development only? Part Number: 341-0175B and 341-0176B
    * A - Lisa 1 ROM (very rare) - development only? Part Number: 341-0175A and 341-0176A

    Known I/O board ROM versions:

    * A8 - Lisa 2 Part Number: 341-0290B
    * 88 - Lisa 2/10 Part Number: 341-0261D
    * 40 - Lisa 1 - for use with Twiggies (very rare) Part Number: 341-0138E, 341-0138F


    You have five machines?
    Do all of them have 3 1/4" floppies in them?

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    183

    Default

    3 Lisa's with 2 extra MB's. in the above configurations. ll have 3.5" drives. 2 have HD's. These were from a past apple engineer
    I cleaned the heads on all 3 FD's. But am unsure about how to lubricate the eject mechanism? The one in LIsa #1 works file, but the others two do not.
    Is there a link for that procedure?
    Atari Falcon 030/FX-1 CF & SD 14mb, Atari MSTE, Atari PS3000, STACY 4 /w UltraSatan SD, 4160STE-CosmosEX, Atari PC1-PCH204-2xPCF-551-PCM124, 1040STFM, 1040STF, 520ST(4mb, 16mhz), 400-48K & std kybrd, 800, 600XL, 800XL, 1200XL(256 Rambo,svideo,31-OS,APE upgrade), 130XE, XEGS, matching peripherals for all,
    Apple llGS ROM 3-4mb-CF HD, C64, 4+, IBM XT 5160, IT 99/4+, TRS80-4P, Amiga 500,

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,568

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KLund1 View Post
    3 Lisa's with 2 extra MB's. in the above configurations. ll have 3.5" drives. 2 have HD's. These were from a past apple engineer
    I cleaned the heads on all 3 FD's. But am unsure about how to lubricate the eject mechanism? The one in LIsa #1 works file, but the others two do not.
    Is there a link for that procedure?
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9NRUiZAAegM
    is one

    or search for apple 400k sony drive cleaning

  8. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KLund1 View Post
    The one in LIsa #1 works file, but the others two do not.
    Is there a link for that procedure?
    Yeah, I cleaned mine just a few months ago and did a write-up on it: Cleaning Macintosh Sony 400K disk drives

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •