Image Map Image Map
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Need some help with a rare Compaq system

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    1,234

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ole Juul View Post
    I probably missed something here, but what's wrong with using CF?
    Yeah, you missed my post where I said to make an image of the existing drive.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ole Juul View Post
    I probably missed something here, but what's wrong with using CF?
    Well how else am I supposed to make an image of the drive? I have an IDE to CF adapter and a 4GB card but I don't know how else I'd get an image of the original drive to restore to the CF card.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    1,234

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by itsvince725 View Post
    Well how else am I supposed to make an image of the drive? I have an IDE to CF adapter and a 4GB card but I don't know how else I'd get an image of the original drive to restore to the CF card.
    You can make an image of the drive while it's still in the machine using Partition Magic, though that assumes you can connect another drive to the machine. You can always remove the CD-ROM drive temporarily.

    https://winworldpc.com/product/partitionmagic/4x

    An IDE2USB adapter might not work on such an old drive, I have three of them from different manufacturers and it's always a crapshoot if an old drive works with any of them.

    If the drive doesn't work on a USB adapter, you'll need to use a machine with an IDE controller.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    250

    Default

    In the meantime I'm trying to get the bloat down, but even after deleting everything obvious that I could do without I still only have 222MB free. Is there something I'm missing?

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    1,234

    Default

    Windows 95 shouldn't even come close to filling a 1.8 GB drive.

    The only things I can think of that are eating space is that either there's a huge swapfile (pagefile.sys), or there are OEM partitions on the disk.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    250

    Default

    There's an OEM diagnostic partition but that's less than 200MB in size so that's not the issue.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    DE, USA..
    Posts
    2,750

    Default

    I want that machine, you want some money? I'll come pick it up in person so it's no work for you and pay generously. (PM sent)

    BIOS is accessed by hitting F10 when the block appears in the top right, by the way, if nobody mentioned yet.

    IDE<->USB adapters work on any drive I've ever tried, I doubt there's any restriction. The only thing to keep in mind is it must be set to MASTER if it's too old to have CABLE SELECT (might still need to be set to MASTER either way).
    Last edited by Raven; June 30th, 2018 at 04:33 PM.
    More commonly known as "Yushatak" - www.yushatak.com
    Focused on 486 and Pentium Machines
    I collect All-In-One PCs and Keyboard PCs, especially Compaq.

  8. #38

    Default

    I once had a Compaq 4108 which is largely the same spec but in a conventional desktop package. The official Compaq monitor for it (the 1425) also had a built in microphone at the top of it as per your all in one, which I always though was rather odd. Nice looking systems though, would love to get something from that range today.

    On top of the bloatware, something seemed strangely unoptimised about the bundled Windows installation, almost as if they were using dodgy drivers. It was so slow that it felt like a 486. Unfortunately you didn't get a proper Windows 95 CD with it, only a restore CD that would just give you back the same installation. Reinstalling with a vanilla Windows 95 CD gave much better performance.

    If the hard disk has been replaced and/or the original BIOS partition has been corrupted, there is an option in the floppy-based setup to reinstate the partition on the hard disk so you can access it with F10 again. You can also try manually changing to the partition in FDISK - it is just a normal FAT16 partition. If you change over to it and the partition is good then it will boot straight into the BIOS without any keys being pressed (make sure you've got a working boot floppy with FDISK on it though so that you can change it back!).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •