Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Atari ST floppy drive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    453

    Default Atari ST floppy drive

    I'm looking for a replacement internal floppy drive for my Atari STf. It is double sided 720K drive with the big central eject button. A broken Chinon F-354 that still spins the disk would be usable for parts, or a working drive of any make.

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    I need one too. I feel like Atari drives break more than Apple ones.

    I considered getting an SD card version but it's a little too expensive considering all I really want is to play my FDD games.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    453

    Default

    I just got this ST, and it is my first one, so I can't comment on the overall reliability of the floppy drives. This one was shown working in the eBay post I bought it from, and came with a floppy disk, but it doesn't spin now. You can use PC HD drives if they can be set to be the first drive, not the second drive as is typical of PC drives.

    I have been getting by with one but I had to make an extension for the floppy ribbon cable, and the power lead to locate the drive outside the case. With that stylish faceplate and central eject button of the original drive, I would have to modify the case to mount the drive internally.

    I finally found a drive, in Greece no less. I'm glad I can use the computer in the meantime.

  4. #4

    Default

    Look for an Epson SMD-300. Those can be configured for Atari ST.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,753

    Default

    I have a couple of working Chinon FB-354 drives on my site.

    They don't have the center eject button, but, if you look at the eject button plate that runs along the front of the drive, it appears that the button can be relocated to the center position.
    Legacy Computers and Parts

    Sales of, parts for, and repairs to, Vintage and Legacy computers.

  6. #6

    Default

    And they can be configured for an Atari? I was curious, do all drives that worked in Amigas work in Ataris?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,753

    Default

    I don't know about ALL, but, I'd say a good proportion.

    The FDC sub-system for both are, pretty much the same as is the drive cable, IIRC.
    Legacy Computers and Parts

    Sales of, parts for, and repairs to, Vintage and Legacy computers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Caleb Hansberry View Post
    And they can be configured for an Atari? I was curious, do all drives that worked in Amigas work in Ataris?
    It has been my experience that Amiga drives are not compatible with the ST. I have found that any PC 3.5" floppy drive will work in the ST if it can be set as the first drive. Most 3.5" drive don't have a drive select jumper, but I have a Panasonic JU-257-524P and a Teac FD-235HF that have the jumper and work just fine with the ST. The only thing is most drives don't support the disk change line. You need to be careful to close any floppy disk window that is open on the desktop before you switch disks. I can't mount either of these drives inside the case because of the eject button design.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,753

    Default

    The FB-354 comes set to the first drive, I had to use an adapter to test it on a PC to avoid cutting traces and re-jumpering it. It also lets you move a 0-ohm SMD resister to determine what signal is output on pin 34(?) RDY or DC.
    Legacy Computers and Parts

    Sales of, parts for, and repairs to, Vintage and Legacy computers.

  10. #10

    Default

    I fixed my Mega ST drive a while ago. Simple solution: replace the electrolytic capacitors. Those capacitors are small, I found suitable replacements at Mouser. I don't know what are you drive's problems, but it's worth a try.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •