Image Map Image Map
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: PCI graphics options for a P200MMX?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,006
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Generally I would do this:
    Pentium 1, Voodoo 1
    Pentium 2 Voodoo 2/3 depending on the CPU speed and what is available.
    Pentium 3 over 733 Voodoo 5.

    Never seen the need for a Voodoo 4.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    250

    Default

    I've been looking for a 4MB card for my Gateway 2000 with a P200MMX but I don't really know what to get. I want 24bit color at 1024x768 and the onboard Rage II+DVD can't provide that.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,006
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    You need 4MB of video memory for 24 bit at 1024x768. Do you have a 2MB card and if so does it have room for expansion?
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
    You need 4MB of video memory for 24 bit at 1024x768. Do you have a 2MB card and if so does it have room for expansion?
    I don't, that's the onboard GPU and it can't be expanded. That's why I need a 4MB PCI card.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,006
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Is the chip built into the board? If so is there a EDO RAM expansion header? I have a Compaq era P1 system with built in video and it had a header for a proprietary video ram upgrade (also a 486 Compaq with VRAM upgrade but it needed a different type).
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Western North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,066

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
    Generally I would do this:
    Pentium 1, Voodoo 1...
    But what SVGA card to use along with the Voodoo 1?
    Back in 1997, previous $dayjob got a P200MMX for a graphical workstation for me for web development. It included a 4-disc changer and a Voodoo 1. I still have the Voodooo 1 card, but I don't recall what the base SVGA card was in that machine. I don't think that machine had AGP, but I could very well be wrong. The 2D card was probably an ATI Rage II or a Rage Pro.
    --
    Bughlt: Sckmud
    Shut her down Scotty, she's sucking mud again!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,006
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I used a Matrox Millenium because of the nice picture quality on a CRT. My Current V1 setup has a Nvidia Riva PCI card.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Western North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,066

    Default

    The Matrox card may have been what this machine had, but not sure. It's a good period fit, though.
    --
    Bughlt: Sckmud
    Shut her down Scotty, she's sucking mud again!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
    Is the chip built into the board? If so is there a EDO RAM expansion header? I have a Compaq era P1 system with built in video and it had a header for a proprietary video ram upgrade (also a 486 Compaq with VRAM upgrade but it needed a different type).
    Yeah, it's on the board. Sadly no expansion header (it's a modified Intel AN430TX board and the Intel board doesn't have an expansion header either).

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Fairfield, Ohio
    Posts
    308

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
    I used a Matrox Millenium because of the nice picture quality on a CRT. My Current V1 setup has a Nvidia Riva PCI card.
    I had a Millennium back in the day. Very nice card, but the video ram was only 2Mb, if (ha ha) memory serves. You could get a daughter card to upgrade it, but cost a fair number of $$$ at the time.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •