Image Map Image Map
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: 8 Bit ISA Floppy Controller Needed

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    28,500
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    "CMOS" is a horrible name for the thing in any case. "NVRAM" might have been better, or "RTC-Configuration RAM" according to function. It's really strange to hear people talking about "CMOS" on systems where just about all of the chips are CMOS.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Shrewsbury, MA
    Posts
    337

    Default

    I think it's just one of those things, like you might call an engine a motor even though the term describes something completely different.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    28,500
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    It's worse that that--it's akin to calling (only) the jar of peanut butter in your cupboard "food".

    As in, "I'm going to the supermarket to buy some food".

    "CMOS" can refer to just about any IC on even a remotely modern motherboard.

  4. #14

    Default

    All engines are motors...

    I blame the "Clear CMOS" jumper for the widespread misuse of the term.

    As for a floppy controller, a generic 16-bit multi-I/O card will work in most XTs, provided you don't need an external floppy BIOS. Most RLL controllers have floppy interfaces as well.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    28,500
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default

    I don't know if "all engines are motors" applies in the legacy meaning of the word, which was "mechanical device". Hence "Cotton Gin". It's thought that the expression "to gin something up" is a shortening of the same word.

    Useless fact No. 394872.

  6. #16

    Default

    Hmm true. I should have said any engine which imparts motion is a motor. There seems to be a recent trend where people think a motor has to be electric.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Shrewsbury, MA
    Posts
    337

    Default

    Bump. Still looking for a working controller, preferably with a cable too

  8. #18

    Default

    I have a controller from an XT clone.

    Does your Compaq have one or two 360k floppies?
    ☀☀☀ Visit Take Another Step for both computer and non-computer related discussions. ☀☀☀

    If you're looking for DS/DD or DS/HD 3" or 5" floppy disks, PM me. I've got some new, used, and factory over-labeled disks for sale.

    There is a crack in everything. That's how the light gets in. -- Leonard Cohen

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Shrewsbury, MA
    Posts
    337

    Default

    Mine has 2 floppy drives

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •