Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Quadra 950 info needed - Any old skool graphic designers out there?

Default Quadra 950 info needed - Any old skool graphic designers out there?

Hello all!

I'm a newbie here and got my first Mac in 2001 so the 950 is a little before my time. I'm in charge of figuring out how to unarchive a large amount of design files that have been stored on DAT for the last 20 years (hopefully they are still good)

I was pointed in the direction of getting a 950 which is the machine they were using at this design shop but that's pretty much all I have to start with. I'm assuming that I can get a 950 and load it up with compatible software (photoshop etc) to be able to open the files once extracted from the DAT's but here are my questions.

1. Which monitor was paired with this machine
    2. Which mouse was paired with this machine
    3. OS 8.1 looks like that was the last OS compatible. Does anyone know which versions of photoshop and illustrator worked with 8.1? Perhaps Photoshop 4.0 or 5.0?
    4. What would I need to extract the data from the DAT tapes to the computer?
    5. Is there an easier way to just extract the files from DAT to a more modern machine? The oldest machine I have is a Powermac G4 running 10.4
    6. Do any of you know the best way to get the files onto a modern hard drive?
    7. Any other bits of advice??

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Blog Entries

The first thing you need before you can proceed at all is what software was used to store files to the DAT. If you don't have that information, you can either 1. try all sorts of programs to see if you find one that works, or 2. send the tapes to a recovery service. Can you obtain that information?
    Offering a bounty for:
    - A working Sanyo MBC-775, Olivetti M24, or Logabax 1600
    - Music Construction Set, IBM Music Feature edition (has red sticker on front stating IBM Music Feature)