Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 1084s

  1. #1

    Default 1084s

    I could never get this to sync to my Leading Edge model M, which more or less outputs CGA. Am I doing something wrong, or could the frequency differ from CGA a tad and therefore not sync? If it matters the cable I'm using is from my original NEC Multisync II, which always worked with every other CGA compatible connector.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,078
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Commodore 1084's were mostly for Amigas which were analog video (CGA is digital). Some 1084's had a CGA style digital connection which worked on the Commodore 128 and should work on CGA in general.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Freedom City
    Posts
    6,249
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Either way the sync should work, IIRC.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 2icebitn View Post
    I could never get this to sync to my Leading Edge model M, which more or less outputs CGA. Am I doing something wrong, or could the frequency differ from CGA a tad and therefore not sync? If it matters the cable I'm using is from my original NEC Multisync II, which always worked with every other CGA compatible connector.
    Which 1084 was it? Commodore made quite a few with that model number:

    https://gona.mactar.hu/Commodore/mon...el_number.html

  5. #5

    Default

    That link doesn't work. Regardless does it matter?

    And is there a practical repair for the power switch that won't hold?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,078
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Replace the power switch with an AT Power supply switch (the push type not the flip one).
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
    Replace the power switch with an AT Power supply switch (the push type not the flip one).
    Do you mean IBM PC/AT? My AT has a flipper. Never saw one with a push switch.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,078
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    The push in type that most 386/486 used. I fixed a Commodore monitor with one already and need to fix another. It was a direct fit replacement from what I recall and the specs were the same for power draw (since 120vac goes through the switch). Pop the cover off and look.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 2icebitn View Post
    That link doesn't work. Regardless does it matter?

    And is there a practical repair for the power switch that won't hold?
    There are versions with different power buttons depending upon if your model was made by Thomson, Philips, or Magnavox (which oddly I think are all the same company today, but were not in the 80s).

    In any case, new power buttons for the most common variants are available on Amibay.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    1,232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 2icebitn View Post
    I could never get this to sync to my Leading Edge model M, which more or less outputs CGA. Am I doing something wrong, or could the frequency differ from CGA a tad and therefore not sync? If it matters the cable I'm using is from my original NEC Multisync II, which always worked with every other CGA compatible connector.
    The 1084 should have two separate inputs for analog and digital RGB...these should be round DIN style connectors. Is this what's from your NEC monitor? The pinout is unlikely to be the same.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •