Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: wire wrap wire

Default wire wrap wire

I was not sure where to exactly post this. I've been making wire wrapped circuit boards for many many years and have used a couple of miles of wire wrap wire. Recently I purchased a 500' roll of 30 awg wire from Page Digital. The first 25' or so was OK, but now seems that every other foot or so, the insulation is stuck on the wire. Generally, I just cut the insulation with my stripper and I can pull the insulation off with my fingers. But this stuff is so completely stuck on the wire that sometimes the wire yields. I thought of sending the wire back, but I can't find the paper work anymore. I'm wondering if there is a fix for this? I tried using heat to warm the insulation, figuring that maybe that would loosen it up, but it only softened the outside of the insulation and it even stuck together on the outside. Maybe a little too much heat. I hate to not use this wire, 500' costs. I may try freezing the wire. Maybe some hot/cold cycles would loosen it up. But aside from that, does anyone have any ideas or experiences with this problem. Thanks Mike.

Blog Entries

No, I haven't seen it. I'm assuming that you're using standard silver-plated Kynar-insulated stuff. What are you using for strippers?

I'm pretty sure that is the wire I'm using. I have a number of different colors that I use and don't have this problem with the other wire. Most is from Page Digital and some from Belden. The tools I use are from Ideal. The cutter is made to come apart and I have sharpened it a few times. Both the stripper and cutter has been replaced a few times. I have ordered a new stripper and should see it soon. Since the problem doesn't occur with the other wire, I'm pretty sure that this problem is with the particular spool of wire. Mike

Blog Entries