Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: FDISK "Divide Overflow" on 256MB CF Card

Default FDISK "Divide Overflow" on 256MB CF Card

I've recently purchased and assembled an XT-IDE rev. 4 board, and am trying to use it in my 5155 (IBM PC Portable). This is my first attempt at soldering anything, so I'm not convinced that all my connections are the best, but the 5155 did boot with the card in it, and I did get to the XT-IDE Universal BIOS:

IMG_20190104_182957.jpg

It doesn't find a boot sector on the device, even after I have used install-mbr on Linux to create a DOS MBR, and prepped the card with a VM to include 3.31. I'm not surprised by this, as the comments on the "Modern Classic" XT-IDE walkthrough on YouTube suggested that the way to get the CF card to work was to prep it from the target PC itself.

IMG_20190104_183017.jpg

As far as physical disks go, I only own a set of PC-DOS 3.20 floppies, so I boot into DOS from the floppy and then attempt to use FDISK to prepare the device. This is where things go belly-up.

IMG_20190104_183029.jpg

I issue FDISK without any arguments, and before even getting the FDISK menu I get a "Divide Overflow" error:

IMG_20190104_183058.jpg

I have no idea why I shouldn't be able to prep the CF card from a virtual machine, and even less of an idea of why I can't run FDISK on it. Any pointers or help that folks could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Video of the PC Portable booting into the XT-IDE BIOS with a different CF card in the drive: https://scitech.video/videos/watch/a...8-35774af62e68

Since you are handy with Linux, zero out the entire card with dd

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=1M

Then try again. Replace sdb with the device address of the CF card and unmount it first.

Quote Originally Posted by pearce_jj View Post
    Since you are handy with Linux, zero out the entire card with dd

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=1M