Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: PC 5170 need help with PAL16L8 and 28S42

Question PC 5170 need help with PAL16L8 and 28S42

Hello im new to vintage computers so sorry in advance.
    I am currently trying to make a 5179 clone(just for fun) and i have one small problem.. PCAT Technical Reference has these ic's
    1. PAL16L8 as U130
    2. PAL16L8 as U 67
    3. 28S42 as U72

As far as i know, PAL's need to be programmed, and 28S42 is a PROM, so also needs to be programmed...
    If anybody knows how to program them(i mean, what data) please tell me, ill appreciate all help
    P.S. Sorry if im doing smth wrong, its my 2 day of going into vintage hardware

The data for the PALs could be a problem. AFAIK the PALs have a security fuse that disables someone to read their internal programming. You can still "read" one like a normal (EP)ROM but then you still need some analyzing software to retrieve the functions behind the data.
    With kind regards / met vriendelijke groet, Ruud Baltissen

www.baltissen.org

Thank you, there is also the problem that i dont have original PALs on hand so i cant even make the logic table.. ;-;

Blog Entries

Maybe someone's done the work. More modern GALs (e.g. 16V can be used for the PALs, and quiet often a GAL with a bit of jiggering can be used for the bipolar PROM.

But yes, you need to know what was in them to begin with. I suppose you could make a decent guess on them based on analysis of the schematic and their function.

Quote Originally Posted by Ruud View Post
    AFAIK the PALs have a security fuse that disables someone to read their internal programming. You can still "read" one like a normal (EP)ROM...
    Since they are combinatorial only, I doubt they are security protected. As you said, you can dump a truth table provided you know which pins are inputs and which are outputs (some are I/O) - which can be inferred from the schematic.

Quote Originally Posted by Ruud View Post