Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 360k Floppy Drive

Question 360k Floppy Drive

Long winded first post coming.

I am a high school student who has recently discovered the world of vintage computing. That being said the first computer I bought was an IBM 5160. It is maxed out on ram, has one full height 360k floppy drive and a 10mb hard drive. This was all good and well, but I didn't have any software for it. Enter computer number two, an IBM 300GL with a Pentium 2. My plan was to download software off the internet on a modern computer, put it on the Pentium machine to write the files to a floppy disk, then finally have software on the 5160. I bought a used 1.2mb floppy drive to use in the Pentium machine. After hours of getting the floppy drive to work it reads and writes fine, but the 5160 will not read the disks. I have tried many of the suggestions on the forum on how to get different floppy drives to work together, with no successful results. I have looked online and am not willing to pay the outrageous prices for a 360k floppy drive, so I was wondering if anyone has or knows were a reasonable 360k half height floppy might be.

Without spending any money, I'd say switch the floppy drives around and put the 1200k drive in the 5160. A 1200k drive can read 360k disks just fine but can't write them reliably. If I had a drive to spare I'd set it aside for you but all of mine seem to be going bad at once lol

YMMV when it comes to writing 360K disks in a 1.2MB drive. Officially it doesn't work. In practice it might. I'm lucky that the particularly combination of drives I have do work together but in your case obviously not.

What you could do is buy a male-male parallel cable (often sold as a laplink cable) then temporarily connect the 360K drive to your 300GL. It won't fit inside the case but it will work. Finally make yourself a boot disk and copy INTERLNK onto to it.