Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Thread: VAX 7000-640 CPU frequency

  1. #1

    Default VAX 7000-640 CPU frequency

    Living Computer museum grants access to VAX 7000-640 under OpenVMS - https://livingcomputers.org/Discover...em-Status.aspx. Is it possible to get its CPU frequency? The command show cpu doesn't show it. I'm ready to use assembly to get it. I know that the default frequency is 90.91 MHz but I have doubt about this particular system, it may be upgraded. Any help? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    215

    Default

    SHO CPU / FULL doesnt show the CPU frequency and I dont think its available from a VAX chip.

    Seems ironic that its a live, in service, doing its job, working VAX 4000-705A I just tried that command on

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary C View Post
    SHO CPU / FULL doesnt show the CPU frequency and I dont think its available from a VAX chip.

    Seems ironic that its a live, in service, doing its job, working VAX 4000-705A I just tried that command on
    Why VAX 4000-705A? I've just got the next text.

    $ show cpu /full

    ROSIE, a VAX 7000-640
    Multiprocessing is ENABLED. Streamlined synchronization image loaded.

    PRIMARY CPU = 00

    CPU 00 is in RUN state
    Current Process: *** None ***
    CPU revision level = 0.
    Capabilities of this CPU:
    PRIMARY QUORUM RUN
    Processes which can only execute on this CPU:
    CONFIGURE PID = 20200107 Reason: PRIMARY Capability

    CPU 01 is in RUN state
    Current Process: VOL PID = 20205F6E
    CPU revision level = 1.
    Capabilities of this CPU:
    QUORUM RUN
    Processes which can only execute on this CPU:
    *** None ***

    CPU 02 is in RUN state
    Current Process: *** None ***
    CPU revision level = 2.
    Capabilities of this CPU:
    QUORUM RUN
    Processes which can only execute on this CPU:
    *** None ***

    CPU 03 is in RUN state
    Current Process: *** None ***
    CPU revision level = 3.
    Capabilities of this CPU:
    QUORUM RUN
    Processes which can only execute on this CPU:
    *** None ***
    Is it really impossible to get CPU frequency? I am gathering data for my project. IMHO the NVAX+ in this computer works faster than at 90.91 MHz.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vol.litwr View Post
    Why VAX 4000-705A? .

    Why ?, Its the box im logged onto as part of the user cluster (we still use DEC equipment in our live online database system, and thats the modern stuff, you should see our Honeywell DPS6 systems


    I dont think the VAX chip has any ID byte in it to pull the data from

    If I do the sho CPU command, I get

    $ sho cpu /full

    EC3B, a VAX 4000-705A
    Multiprocessing is DISABLED. Uniprocessing synchronization image loaded.

    PRIMARY CPU = 00

    CPU 00 is in RUN state
    Current Process: _TNA8425: PID = 2023C6C6
    Capabilities of this CPU:
    PRIMARY QUORUM RUN
    Processes which can only execute on this CPU:
    CONFIGURE PID = 20200107 Reason: PRIMARY Capability

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary C View Post
    you should see our Honeywell DPS6 systems
    I worked on a DPS8 system running GCOS for a few years. It had two DPS6 systems for front-end processors, and DPS6 systems for RJE.

    DPS6 systems are still being used to monitor nuclear power plants in the UK.
    Member of the Rhode Island Computer Museum
    http://www.ricomputermuseum.org

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by m_thompson View Post

    DPS6 systems are still being used to monitor nuclear power plants in the UK.
    Yep, I know

    Go on, ask me how I know

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary C View Post
    Yep, I know

    Go on, ask me how I know
    You work for EDF?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PG31 View Post
    You work for EDF?
    Yep

    Spent about 10 years in the computer group working on the DPS6's and the UCS3600 control micros. Mainly hardware on the Honeywells and software on the Intel machines. We use CUTLASS which is actually a very good control language on the 80286 machines.

    The DPS6's are amazingly reliable. Been running for 31 years without missing a serious beat. Never lost any generation due to a computer fault.

    We have a VAX cluster that used to work on 11/750's and MicroVAX, but is mainly Alpha machines now and acts as an online datalogger.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    352

    Default

    A major UK bank still ran RSX-11 on a PDP-11/53 until very recently. I now have that machine in my collection. They also had an 11/750 but I don't know what happened to it. Scrapped I suspect.
    Any other companies still running DEC PDP now or until very recently? I suspect a few machine shops still run with PDP-8???

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,208
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PG31 View Post
    A major UK bank still ran RSX-11 on a PDP-11/53 until very recently. I now have that machine in my collection. They also had an 11/750 but I don't know what happened to it. Scrapped I suspect.
    Any other companies still running DEC PDP now or until very recently? I suspect a few machine shops still run with PDP-8???
    I don't think there are many eights out there. Until recently lots of machine shops had 11's but they are going. Lots of places moving to CNC lasers.
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •