Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: VT100 demo animation ideas

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, USA
    Posts
    193

    Default VT100 demo animation ideas

    I may be dragging a VT100 to VCFMW. I've got some ideas already for creating a file containing ESC sequences to show off the terminal.

    Please post any ideas you have for sharing to this thread. No promises, but maybe someone has some good ideas that I haven't thought of yet

    And yes, I'll probably grab all the animations from textfiles.com for playback; are there any other archives of VT100 animations out there?

  2. #2

    Default

    Find that ASCII Star Wars movie?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, USA
    Posts
    193

    Default

    Yeah, where is that Star Wars movie?

    Here's what I found so far:
    http://www.textfiles.com/art/
    http://artscene.textfiles.com/vt100/

  4. #4

    Default

    Looks like the Star Wars animation is still up via Telnet at towel.blinkenlights.nl - the main site credits it to Simon Jansen of asciimation.co.nz, who would probably be the person to ask for the source files.
    Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
    Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Proteus/2, Moog Satellite, Oberheim SEM
    "'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Outer Mongolia
    Posts
    1,000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by legalize View Post
    Yeah, where is that Star Wars movie?
    If you have an internet connection on whatever you have the VT100 connected to try:

    telnet towel.blinkenlights.nl

    Here's a reddit thread that suggests a way of nabbing your own copy:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/commandline...e_ascii_movie/

    And here's a server program:

    https://github.com/nitram509/ascii-telnet-server

    If you need to be stand alone; full disclosure, I haven't tried either of the latter two things.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Outer Mongolia
    Posts
    1,000

    Default

    It looks like this is the direct link from the source:

    http://www.asciimation.co.nz/sw1.txt

    It's *far* smaller than the tee-ed version, I think the server software may be pushing a constant number of frames per second even when the same frame sticks on the screen for some time?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, USA
    Posts
    193

    Default

    Interesting. The Star Wars "animation" is really just repainting the entire screen (at 63x17 or whatever, it's not a full 80x24) for every "frame" of animation. AFAICT the original version may have used ESC sequences, but the current version does not and would play really slow on vintage hardware. However, by always repainting the same number of characters every frame, it has a consistent frame rate during playback.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, USA
    Posts
    193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eudimorphodon View Post
    It looks like this is the direct link from the source:

    http://www.asciimation.co.nz/sw1.txt

    It's *far* smaller than the tee-ed version, I think the server software may be pushing a constant number of frames per second even when the same frame sticks on the screen for some time?
    Yes, the asciimation site explains the format. The number in the upper left corner is the repeat count for the frame.

  9. #9

    Default

    Yeah, I'd assume that for vintage purposes you'd want to convert to something a little less intensive than the text equivalent of full-frame uncompressed video. It'd probably be pretty trivial to hack up a script to convert the raw data to escape-code-assisted deltas from previous frames...I might have a go at that...
    Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
    Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Proteus/2, Moog Satellite, Oberheim SEM
    "'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Outer Mongolia
    Posts
    1,000

    Default

    What baud rate can your VT100 handle? Because, yeah, if it's just repainting the whole screen with spaces it's definitely not going to work well at 9600 or 19200. The latter would be just enough for about one FPS.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •