Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Replacing broken switches on Amiga monitors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    636

    Default Replacing broken switches on Amiga monitors

    Hello friends,

    As many of you probably know, the old 1080/1084 monitors have cheap plastic switches that push in and out and lock. The locking part easily breaks over the years, and you either have to short the switch and operate it with a power strip, or jam something in there to keep it engaged.

    Well, luckily these switches are not rare and replacing it is easy- you don't even have to open the monitor up all the way, just 6 screws and pull it open about 2 inches. I will be crude and say you just have to pull it's underwear down just a little to get access.

    You can replace it with a common AT power supply push-button switch. You probably have one of these in an old computer or power supply sitting around already, or you can get them for a few bucks on eBay. They are not the same- these are metal (not plastic like the original) but the footprint, mounting screws, and wiring is exactly the same. Cut the wires on the old one, then tin and solder them to the new one and it fits perfectly and works fine.

    https://photos.app.goo.gl/AV9tCvnJzbBuBa6dA
    Last edited by rittwage; July 20th, 2019 at 10:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Which is the new one and which is the old? I'm assuming the brown one is the new one you are about to install in the photos because it doesn't have any traces of solder on its legs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    636

    Default

    Correct - the white plastic one is the original. These all eventually stop working - they lose their "lock"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    1,251

    Default

    How about these? They look close to what you have. New for $2.57 ea and panel mount - 250V.

    https://www.digikey.com/products/en/...=1&pageSize=25


    https://media.digikey.com/pdf/Data%2...97EEPB_Dwg.pdf

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central VA
    Posts
    4,546

    Default

    Looks similar to the Preh switch in my HP 700/43 monitor. I found that the little sliding pin plate had lost its pin. Replaced it with a bit of cut-off paper clip, still working

    http://www.glitchwrks.com/2018/07/31/hp-700-43

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    636

    Default

    Great repair. You have a lot more patience than I do!

    I thought about opening it, but once I saw it was held with those plastic rivets, I looked for a replacement instead. My luck with repairing old tiny plastic parts like that is non-existent. Usually I open it, parts fall out, and if they are ever even located again, there is no way to know where they went back together or even that I found all of them.

  7. #7

    Default

    Ahhh that switch. I don't know where I got it from - I think a yard sale - but one of the PCs I built as a kid had one of those hanging out the back.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •