Image Map Image Map

Thread: My (not so beautifull soldered) 5volt VIC-II in 12volt board adaptors.

Default My (not so beautifull soldered) 5volt VIC-II in 12volt board adaptors.

I just wanted to share a little nifty thing, that I soldered today. I am not a pro at soldering, so bare with me on that. Yet they have no shortening between legs, and they are as low profile as I can do them at this point. I did two adaptor's today.

What are they good for? Well... The main reason is that I avoid modding a 12volt board, and I can get the image quality that a 5volt chip provides. The jailbars can then be eliminated by the use of a Lumafix. (Or something like that)

First I rasped off pin-13 of the bottom socket, then soldered a wire between pin-13 and pin-40 on the top socket, feeding pin-13 some 5volt. Finally sandwiched them together. Again... Sorry for my bad soldering. I am far from a pro at this stuff.

Adaptor-01-Bottom-Part.jpg Adaptor-02-Top-Part.jpg Adaptor-03-Finished-Sandwich.jpg Adaptor-04-Side-01.jpg Adaptor-05-Side-02.jpg

Blog Entries

I confess that I'm a little confused--why the "stacked" sockets? Wouldn't it be simpler to simply cut off the +12 pin and use a bit of 30 AWG wire to jumper it to the +5 and then put a drop or two of epoxy over the rasped-off section? At least that way, you'd only be adding a single socket.

My .02 anyay

Quote Originally Posted by Chuck(G) View Post
    I confess that I'm a little confused--why the "stacked" sockets? Wouldn't it be simpler to simply cut off the +12 pin and use a bit of 30 AWG wire to jumper it to the +5 and then put a drop or two of epoxy over the rasped-off section? At least that way, you'd only be adding a single socket.

My .02 anyay