Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: MicroVAX 3300

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    215

    Default MicroVAX 3300

    Ok

    Now its time to have a go at the 3300

    The PSU appears to be set to 110V (sticker on front of PSU) despite the socket saying 240V.

    Looking in the PSU, there is a unplugable link. Does anyone know if the link should be removed for 240V operation ? (cant find a manual online)

    I think this unit is a bit more of a basket case than the 3100 as the drive connections were partially disassembled and one of the RF30's has 'dead ?' written on it.

    I also note that the drive mounts rubber have disintegrated, but also that there are levers that clamp the rails, are these for transport or to release the drives for removal ?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2

    Default

    The levers are to release the drives so you can slide the drive carriage off the rail it sits on, yeah.
    Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73
    Synthesizers: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, E-mu Proteus/2, Moog Satellite, Oberheim SEM
    "'Legacy code' often differs from its suggested alternative by actually working and scaling." - Bjarne Stroustrup

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Nice find, I believe the cabinet is a BA215. There is also and expansion cabinet that looks the same called R215F that can house more RF disks.
    Assuming your 3300 is in BA215 then checkout page 12 of this guide. I suspect the PSU for 240v may be different than the PSU for 120v, hopefully someone else will pipe up with the correct answer.

    http://manx-docs.org/collections/mds...x/432abin2.pdf

    Also the BA215 can support a VAX 4000 as well, so worth checking what cards you have installed.
    Last edited by PG31; July 31st, 2019 at 10:12 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,208
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    From what I have seen in the manuals only the cable changed, which implies the PSUs are auto-sense, but I can't believe that PSUs that old would have that capability....

    Might be worth asking on the VMS newsgroup. Lots of older folks on there.

    Also DEC Legacy group

    https://groups.io/g/declegacy
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g4ugm View Post
    From what I have seen in the manuals only the cable changed, which implies the PSUs are auto-sense, but I can't believe that PSUs that old would have that capability....

    Might be worth asking on the VMS newsgroup. Lots of older folks on there.

    Also DEC Legacy group

    https://groups.io/g/declegacy
    Thanks, will try.

    Looking at it, Im pretty sure the plug in link is a 240/110 selection, but will have to draw out the cct before I plug it it.

    Just have to fix one of our sons laptop first, PSU connector has failed, but Amazon to the rescue and part arriving tomorrow. Wish they did vintage PC bits as easily.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Damn it. The A version of the PSU is not selectable and B versions are 200+

    Not only that, it has a blown cap, so it looks as if it was powered up at 240 before I got it.

    Given the big caps, and chunky inductors, I hope any tranisent hasnt affected the processor, but I wont know until I get a 240-110V transformer, replace the cap and give it a go.

    Ah, well, its part of the game.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,208
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    thats a bugger as they say in Newcastle...
    ... do you think you could use a modern PC Server PSU?
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •